Recently in Men's Soccer Category

Sunday's Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Sunday, Oct. 20

WISCONSIN (rv) at MICHIGAN - 12 p.m. ET


No. 17 PENN STATE at No. 14 MICHIGAN STATE - 2:30 p.m. ET

Friday's Results

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Friday, Oct. 18


National Statistics Roundup

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

In the updated NCAA men's soccer statistical rankings released on Friday, four Big Ten teams and four individual players garnered top 25 recognition. Below is a list of the updated rankings, including nine placements within the top 10.

Assists per Game
4. Michigan State - 2.64
12. Wisconsin - 2.00
20. Northwestern - 1.85

Goals per Game
11. Wisconsin - 2.17
18. Michigan State - 2.00

Points per Game
8. Michigan State - 6.64
10. Wisconsin - 6.33

Total Assists
5. Michigan State - 29
13. Wisconsin - 24
13. Northwestern - 24

Total Goals
12. Wisconsin - 26
23. Northwestern - 23

Total Points
13. Wisconsin - 76
17. Michigan State - 73
24. Northwestern - 70

Save Percentage
4. Michigan State - .883
12. Ohio State - .849

Saves per Game
3. Ohio State - 6.58

Goals-Against Average
10. Zach Bennett, MSU - .600

Save Percentage
3. Zach Bennett, MSU - .881
6. Alex Ivanov, OSU - .869

Points per Game
9. Joey Calistri, NU - 1.77

Total Assists
15. Drew Conner, WIS - 6

Total Goals
3. Joey Calistri, NU - 10

Total Points
3. Joey Calistri, NU - 23

Top Drawer Soccer revealed its midseason National Top 100 for men's soccer, which included 13 Big Ten players. Among the top 25 selections were Northwestern's Chris Ritter (No. 10) and Joey Calistri (No. 20) and Wisconsin's AJ Cochran (No. 24).

Northwestern had a conference-high four student-athletes recognized, followed by Wisconsin (3), Michigan (2), Michigan State (2), Indiana (1) and Penn State (1).

Below is a complete listing of Big Ten representatives.
Men's Soccer:
10. Chris Ritter, Sr., Northwestern
20. Joey Calistri, So., Northwestern
24. AJ Cochran, Jr., Wisconsin
27. A.J. Corrado, Sr., Wisconsin
34. Kevin Cope, Sr., Michigan State
43. Fabio Pereira, Sr., Michigan
48. Adam Montague, Jr., Michigan State
49. Tomislav Zadro, Sr., Wisconsin
73. Nikita Kotlov, Sr., Indiana
76. Nikko Boxall, Jr., Northwestern
86. Tyler Miller, Jr., Northwestern
93. Martin Seiler, Sr., Penn State
95. Tyler Arnone, Jr., Michigan

Friday's Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Friday, Oct. 18


Wednesday's Results

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Wednesday, Oct. 16

No. 14 MICHIGAN STATE 3, Oakland 0

Big Ten Men's Soccer Weekly Honors

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Wisconsin's AJ Cochran earned a spot on the Top Drawer Soccer Team of the Week, it was announced on Tuesday.

The junior defender scored a pair of goals, including the game-winner, to help Wisconsin defeat Indiana, 4-3, in Madison, Wis., on Oct. 11. Cochran capped off the Badgers' three-goal comeback by scoring twice in the final 25 minutes. He was also named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week on Monday, and was selected as the College Sports Madness Big Ten Player of the Week.

Big Ten play will resume on Friday, when Wisconsin and Michigan will meet in Ann Arbor, Mich. Northwestern will travel to Ohio State while Michigan State will entertain Penn State.


Six Big Ten men's and women's soccer players were selected as finalists for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award, it was announced on Wednesday. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award recognizes student-athletes who are successful both on and off the field, excelling in community, classroom, character and competition. The Big Ten's men's soccer honorees included Indiana's A.J. Corrado, Michigan State's Kevin Cope and Northwestern's Chris Ritter. On the women's side, Illinois' Vanessa DiBernardo, Michigan's Holly Hein and Penn State's Maya Hayes were named 2013 Senior CLASS Award finalists. 

Cope is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and collected second-team All-Big Ten honors in 2012. Corrado was a first-team All-Big Ten pick last season and also received Academic All-Big Ten plaudits. Ritter was tabbed the Big Ten Defender of the Year in 2012, while also being named first-team All-Big Ten and Academic All-Big Ten.     

DiBernardo was named first-team All-Big Ten in each of the past two seasons, and was the 2010 Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Hayes has collected Big Ten Forward of the Year and received first-team All-Big Ten honors in each of the past two seasons. Hein is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, and was named first-team All-Big Ten in 2012.  

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Men's and Women's College Cup Championships in December. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner. To vote for a men's and women's candidate, click here.

Wednesday's Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Wednesday, Oct. 16

Oakland at No. 14 MICHIGAN STATE - 4 p.m. ET

Tuesday's Results

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Tuesday, Oct. 15

No. 11 Louisville 3, INDIANA 0

No. 14 NORTHWESTERN 1, No. 2 Notre Dame 1

MICHIGAN 1, No. 7 Creighton 0

WISCONSIN 1, Western Illinois 0