Recently in Rowing Category

Michigan State rower Laura Cowal recently was selected to the Canadian U-23 National Team that will compete in Belarus this summer. She will compete with the U-23 eight team and updates with her training thus far.
Big Ten Athlete of the Year Emily Regan is training with US Rowing this summer with the hopes of earning a spot on the US U-23 national team that will compete in Belarus in August. She checks in with to give her reactions to the first two weeks of workouts with the national squad.

ROW: Five Earn All-America Honors By CRCA

| 1 Comment | No TrackBacks
The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced earlier this week the 2010 All-America teams, with five student-athletes earning selections.

Three Big Ten rowers were chosen on the first team, including Michigan's Ashley Kroll, Michigan State's Emily Regan and Wisconsin's Vicky Opitz. Iowa's Jessica Novak and Ohio State's Chorlott Goldstein were voted to the second team.

To read the complete release from the CRCA, click here.

Four Selected to Women's All-America At-Large Team

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Four Big Ten women's student-athletes were selected to the 2010 CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America At-Large team, the College Sports Information Directors of America announced on Thursday morning.

Ohio State diver Chelsea Davis and Penn State gymnast Brandi Personett were named to the second team, while Purdue swimmer Christine Inman and Indiana rower Emily Kasavana earned spots on the third team.

To be eligible for Academic-All-America consideration, student-athletes must be a starter or a key reserve, maintain a 3.30 GPA on a 4.00 scale, must be at least sophomore athletically and academically at his/her institution and must be nominated by his/her sports information director.

To read the complete release from CoSIDA, click here.

More on Kasavana

More on Davis

More on Personett

More on Inman

Big Ten Medal of Honor Award Winners Announced

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten Conference office announced on Wednesday the 2010 Medal of Honor winners. The award was established in 1914 when the Big Ten endowed a Medal of Honor to be given annually to a student in the graduating class of each university that demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics. In 1982, the Medal of Honor was expanded to include a senior female athlete from each institution.

Click here to read the complete release.

The Big Ten announced on Thursday the 22 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2009-10 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

For a complete list of the 2010 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners, click here.

ROW: CRCA Announces 2010 All-Region Team

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced the 2010 All-Region Teams on Tuesday with 17 Big Ten student-athletes comprising the 20-woman All-Central Region Team. It was also announced Wisconsin's Bebe Bryans was named Central Region Coach of the Year and assistant Karen Kraft Rigsby was named Central Region Assistant Coach of the Year. The association also announced its Scholar-Athlete award winners.

To view the complete All-Central Region Team, click here. For the list of Scholar-Athlete award winners, click here.

Twenty-four Big Ten student-athletes were named to the 2010 CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District Teams for the at-large division, it was announced Thursday by the Academic All-America Committee.

To be nominated for Academic All-District, a student-athlete must be a starter or a key reserve with at least a 3.30 cumulative GPA and must be a sophomore in both athletic and academic standing. All First Team Academic All-District honorees from each of the eight districts will be placed on the national ballot and are eligible to be selected to the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America team.

The complete list of Big Ten CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District members include:

District 2
First Team:
Brandi Personett, Women's Gymnastics, PSU
Second Team:
Amy Bonenberger, Field Hockey, PSU
Miguel Pineda, Men's Gymnastics, PSU

District 4
First Team:
Chelsea Davis, Women's Swimming and Diving, OSU
Lindsay Quintiliani, Field Hockey, OSU
Stefan Sigrist, Men's Swimming and Diving, OSU
Second Team:
Kent Caldwell, Men's Gymnastics, MICH
Sarah Curtis, Women's Gymnastics, MICH
Kelsey Knutson, Women's Gymnastics, MICH
Ian Makowske, Men's Gymnastics, MICH
André Schultz, Men's Swimming and Diving, MICH
Brad Smith, Men's Golf, OSU

District 5
First Team:
Lachlan Ferguson, Men's Tennis, IND
Emily Kasavana, Rowing, IND
Kelsey Lindenschmidt, Women's Golf, NU
David Colturi, Men's Swimming and Diving, PUR
Christine Inman, Women's Swimming and Diving, PUR
Second Team:
Allison Buckley, Women's Gymnastics, ILL
Abe Souza, Men's Tennis, ILL
Aaron Fortunato, Men's Gymnastics, MINN
Kaylee Jamison, Women's Swimming and Diving, MINN
Tyler Duncan, Men's Golf, PUR

District 7
First Team:
Brent Metcalf, Wrestling, IOWA
Second Team:
Patricia Dean, Field Hockey, IOWA

Men's Academic All-District Teams / Women's Academic All-District Teams

ROW: Big Ten Announces Individual Award Winners

| 1 Comment | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten Conference office announced the rowing individual award winners and seven sportsmanship honorees, as chosen by the conference coaches, on Wednesday afternoon. Michigan State's Emily Regan was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Wisconsin's Mollie Kryka won Freshman of the Year laurels. Badger leader Bebe Bryans was named conference Coach of the Year after guiding Wisconsin to its first Big Ten Championship.

For complete information on the award winners and the list of All-Big Ten honorees, click here.

ROW: Wisconsin Wins First Big Ten Championship

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
At the 2010 Big Ten Rowing Championships on Lake Ovid at Sleepy Hollow State Park in Laingsburg, Mich., Wisconsin won its first Big Ten title off the strength of four first-place efforts. With wins in the second varsity eight, first varsity four, first novice eight and second novice eight, the Badgers totaled 148 points, ahead of second-place Michigan State (132) and third-place Michigan (111). Ohio State was fourth with 105 points followed by Minnesota (66), Iowa (51) and Indiana (30).

For more information on the championships, click here.