Recently in Men's Golf Category

MGOLF: Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
MICHIGAN STATE at Fossum Invitational - East Lansing, Mich.

PURDUE at Turning Stone Tiger Intercollegiate - Verona, N.Y.
Three Big Ten men's golf teams have received preseason top-25 recognition in the Golf World/Nike Golf Division I College Preseason Coaches' Poll, announced on Tuesday. Defending Big Ten Champion Illinois leads the way for the conference squads, holding No. 13 entering the fall season. Iowa checks in at No. 19 in the poll, while Ohio State stands at No. 20. Michigan and Northwestern are each receiving votes in the first poll of the 2011-12 season.

Click here to see the complete poll.

MGOLF: Michigan Names Whitten Head Coach

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Chris Whitten has been named Michigan's head men's golf coach, athletic director Dave Brandon announced on Thursday. Whitten has spent five years on the Wolverines' coaching staff, serving as the team's assistant coach.

Click here for Michigan's complete release.

MGOLF: Golfweek All-Americans Announced

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Three Big Ten men's golfers have earned All-America recognition from Golfweek, the publication announced on Monday. Illinois' Luke Guthrie was tabbed a first-team All-American, while Iowa's Vince India was chosen as a second-team honoree. Michigan's Lion Kim earned honorable mention recognition.

Click here to see the complete list of Golfweek All-Americans.
Ohio State's Brad Smith has been named to the Capital One Academic All-America At-Large Second Team, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced on Tuesday. A finance major, Smith holds a 3.95 grade-point average and is one of just five golfers to earn the honor.

Click here to see Ohio State's release on Smith.

MGOLF: NCAA Regional Championships Links

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The NCAA Men's Golf Regionals are now underway. Click the links below for live scoring and updates throughout the regionals.

Arizona Regional: Live Scoring
Big Ten teams: Purdue

Colorado Regional: Championships Central | Live Scoring
Big Ten teams: Northwestern

Indiana Regional: Championships Central | Live Scoring
Big Ten teams: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan

San Diego Regional: Championships Central | Live Scoring
Big Ten teams: Ohio State
Big Ten individuals: Donald Constable (Minnesota), Erik Van Rooyen (Minnesota)

Virginia Tech Regional: Live Blog | Live Scoring
Big Ten individuals: T.J. Howe (Penn State)
Twenty-two Big Ten student athletes earned Capital One Academic All-District honors as announced on Thursday. Ten student-athletes received first-team recognition while 12 picked up second-team honors. The first-team honorees are now eligible for Academic All-America consideration. The complete list of Big Ten Academic All-District award recipients can be found below.


District II - First Team
Miguel Pineda, Penn State (gymnastics)

District IV - First Team
Sean Duddy, Ohio State (ice hockey)
Justin Farra, Ohio State (swimming and diving)
Brad Smith, Ohio State (golf)

District IV - Second Team
Carl Hagelin, Michigan (ice hockey)

District V - Second Team
Abe Souza, Illinois (tennis)
Eric Ress, Indiana (swimming and diving)
Ivan Gutesa, Minnesota (swimming and diving)
Matt Stewart, Purdue (swimming and diving)


District IV - First Team
Sarah Curtis, Michigan (gymnastics)

District IV - Second Team
Samantha Cheverton, Ohio State (swimming and diving)
Carolin Helmholz, Ohio State (rowing)

District V - First Team
Melissa Fernandez, Illinois (gymnastics)
Kaylee Jamison, Minnesota (swimming)
Kelsey Lindenschmidt, Northwestern (golf)
Allie Smith, Purdue (swimming)
Becca Ruegsegger, Wisconsin (ice hockey)

District V - Second Team
Allison Buckley, Illinois (gymnastics)
Margaux Farrell, Indiana (swimming)
Lauren Gustafson, Purdue (swimming)
Maggie Meyer, Wisconsin (swimming)
Carolyne Prevost, Wisconsin (ice hockey)

MGOLF: Big Ten Heads to NCAA Regionals

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Seven Big Ten teams and three individual golfers hailing from conference schools travel to NCAA Men's Golf Regionals this weekend. The Big Ten contingent kicks off competition on Thursday and concludes the three-round tournaments on Saturday at five of the six regional sites.

The first round will begin at 8 a.m. local time on Thursday, with Friday's second round also getting underway at 8 a.m. Saturday's third round will tee off at 7:30 a.m. The top five teams and top individual not on an advancing team will move on to the NCAA Championships.

Click here to see where the Big Ten will be competing this weekend.

Seven Big Ten teams and three individual conference golfers have been selected to compete in the NCAA Men's Golf Regionals. The Big Ten contingent will be spread across five of the six regional sites, with the top five teams and top individual not on one of those teams advancing from each regional to the NCAA Championships. Three regionals will host 13 teams and 10 individuals while the other three sites will welcome 14 teams and five individuals. The regionals are scheduled for May 19-21.

Click here to see which Big Ten teams and individuals were chosen to the field of competitors.
The Big Ten announced on Monday its men's golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners with Iowa's Vince India taking home the Big Ten Player of the Year award. Purdue's Adam Schenk was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while conference champion Illinois' head coach Mike Small was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Click here to see the complete list of All-Big Ten performers and individual award winners.