Recently in Rowing Category

ROW: Seven Named CRCA All-Americans

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Seven Big Ten rowers have earned CRCA Pocock All-America honors as announced on Friday. Big Ten Rower of the Year and Michigan State senior Laura Cowal earned first-team honors and was joined by Michigan's Felice Mueller on the first team.

Five conference rowers received second-team recognition as Michigan's Natalie Eisermann, Michigan State's Kellie Lapointe, Ohio State's Ulrike Denker and Claudia Schiwy, and Wisconsin's Vanessa Kleiss took home honors.

Click here to see the complete list of CRCA Pocock All-Americans.

ROW: CRCA Honors 18 From Big Ten

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Big Ten rowing is well-represented on the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association's All-Region teams as two coaches and 16 student-athletes were honored. The complete list of Big Ten honorees can be found below.

All-Central Region First Team
Asja Zero, IND
Natalie Eisermann, MICH
Felice Mueller, MICH
Stephanie Bochenek, MSU
Laura Cowal, MSU
Kellie Lapointe, MSU
Amanda McGeachie, MSU (coxswain)
Ulrike Denker, OSU
Claudia Schiwy, OSU
Vanessa Kleiss, WIS

All-Central Region Second Team
Julia Darnton, MICH
Jennifer Entin, MICH (coxswain)
Alex Maibusch, MSU
Claire-Louise Bode, OSU
Carolin Helmholz, OSU
Rachel Buchholtz, WIS

Central Region Head Coach of the Year
Andrew Teitelbaum, OSU

Central Region Assistant Coach of the Year
Kate Strum, MICH
Twenty-two Big Ten student athletes earned Capital One Academic All-District honors as announced on Thursday. Ten student-athletes received first-team recognition while 12 picked up second-team honors. The first-team honorees are now eligible for Academic All-America consideration. The complete list of Big Ten Academic All-District award recipients can be found below.


District II - First Team
Miguel Pineda, Penn State (gymnastics)

District IV - First Team
Sean Duddy, Ohio State (ice hockey)
Justin Farra, Ohio State (swimming and diving)
Brad Smith, Ohio State (golf)

District IV - Second Team
Carl Hagelin, Michigan (ice hockey)

District V - Second Team
Abe Souza, Illinois (tennis)
Eric Ress, Indiana (swimming and diving)
Ivan Gutesa, Minnesota (swimming and diving)
Matt Stewart, Purdue (swimming and diving)


District IV - First Team
Sarah Curtis, Michigan (gymnastics)

District IV - Second Team
Samantha Cheverton, Ohio State (swimming and diving)
Carolin Helmholz, Ohio State (rowing)

District V - First Team
Melissa Fernandez, Illinois (gymnastics)
Kaylee Jamison, Minnesota (swimming)
Kelsey Lindenschmidt, Northwestern (golf)
Allie Smith, Purdue (swimming)
Becca Ruegsegger, Wisconsin (ice hockey)

District V - Second Team
Allison Buckley, Illinois (gymnastics)
Margaux Farrell, Indiana (swimming)
Lauren Gustafson, Purdue (swimming)
Maggie Meyer, Wisconsin (swimming)
Carolyne Prevost, Wisconsin (ice hockey)

The Big Ten Conference office announced the rowing individual award winners as chosen by the conference coaches, on Wednesday afternoon. Michigan State's Laura Cowal was named Big Ten Athlete of the Year, while Michigan's Chrissy Holm won Freshman of the Year laurels. Ohio State's Andy Teitelbaum was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Buckeyes to their first Big Ten Championship since 2006.

Click here for the complete release.

ROW: Final Regular Season National Rankings

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Division I and Division II USRowing/Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Polls presented by Pocock Racing Shells announced the final regular season polls on Wednesday. Four Big Ten teams appeared in the top 20 list, including Ohio State, Michigan State, Michigan and Wisconsin.

After winning their third Big Ten title, Ohio State lead the conference contingent at No. 8, while Michigan State finished the season ranked No. 10. Michigan and Wisconsin head into the 2011 NCAA Rowing Championships as the No. 14 and No. 15 ranked teams, respectively. Minnesota and Indiana also received votes.

Ohio State, Michigan State, Michigan and Wisconsin will also compete in the national event, beginning May 27-29 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif.

Click here for the complete coaches poll.

At the 2011 Big Ten Rowing Championships on Lake Lilly at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind., Ohio State won its third Big Ten title off the strength of two first-place efforts. With wins in the second varsity eight and second varsity four, the Buckeyes totaled 142 points, ahead of second-place Michigan (124) and third-place Wisconsin (121). Michigan State was fourth with 111 points followed by Minnesota (68), Indiana (53) and Iowa (25).

Click here for the entire recap.

ROW: Big Ten Rowing Championships Release

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

The Wisconsin Badgers look to defend their 2010 conference title this weekend at the 2011 Big Ten Rowing Championships on Sunday, May 15, on Lilly Lake at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind.

The Badgers won their first conference championship last year, winning four races with one runner-up finish and a third-place showing. The 11th-ranked Badgers have one top seed, the first novice eights, heading into this year's championships.

For the entire release, click here.

All seven conference rowing teams travel to Indianapolis, Ind., this weekend to compete in the 2011 Big Ten Rowing Championships on May 15. The teams will compete at Eagle Creek Park this Sunday, marking the Big Ten's first-ever neutral-site rowing championships. With a new location brings a new format of the event with a seven-lane finals-only regatta.

Ohio State boasts the top seed in three events including the first varsity eight and first and second varsity fours. Michigan State, Michigan and Wisconsin earn the No. 1 seed in the second varsity eight, second novice eight and first novice eight, respectively.

Click here for the full seeding results and lane assignments.

The Badgers' first varsity eight claimed the year's final Boat of the Week distinction after defeating Minnesota in Wisconsin's first home dual race on Lake Mendota since 2002. Team members from the first varsity eight included coxswain Jane Roberts, Jacquelyn Koykkar, Hayley Leinss, Lauren Pietila, Lisa Godhardt, Anna Schettle, Katelyn Swanson, Rachel Buchholtz and Vanessa Kleiss. The eight rowed to a time of 6:10.0 in choppy water to best Minnesota's time of 6:14.40. This marks the first weekly award for Wisconsin since the 2009 season.

Click here for the entire release.

The eighth-ranked Michigan State Second Varsity Eight boat claimed its first Boat of the Week honors after going 3-0 over the weekend on Lake Monticello in Charlottesville, Va. The second varsity eight consists of coxswain Alyse Egner, Nikki Bade, Michielle Sosa, Bree Walkowiak, Joscelyn Smith, Shelby Motoligin, Hannah Champ, Claire Vandelinder and Brianna Lakanen. The eight knocked off host No. 2 Virginia in 7:21.50, No. 3 USC in 6:54.4 and No. 18 Texas with a time of 6:31.60.

For the entire release on this week's honoree, click here.