Recently in Women's Tennis Category

WTEN: NCAA Championships First/Second Round Links

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Akron (20-4) at #10 MICHIGAN (22-4)
First Round - Ann Arbor, Mich. - 1 p.m. ET

Notre Dame (16-7) at #16 NORTHWESTERN (21-7)
Second Round - Evanston, Ill. - Noon CT

WTEN: NCAA Championships First Round Links

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Friday, May 13
IPFW (27-3) at #16 NORTHWESTERN (20-7)
Evanston, Ill. - 1 p.m. CT

Saturday, May 14
Akron (20-4) at #10 MICHIGAN (22-4)
Ann Arbor, Mich. - 1 p.m. ET
Big Ten women's tennis reeled in five regional awards on Wednesday, with three student-athletes and two coaches receiving recognition. The complete list of Big Ten regional honorees can be found below.

Ronni Bernstein, Michigan - Midwest Region

Jackie Holden, Northwestern - Midwest Region

Maria Mosolova, Northwestern - Midwest Region

Brooke Bolender, Michigan - Midwest Region

Mariana Spilca, Minnesota - Central Region

WTEN: Seven Players Picked for NCAA Championships

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Two Big Ten singles players and three doubles duos have been selected to the 2011 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships as announced on Wednesday. Big Ten Champion Michigan and Big Ten Tournament Champion Northwestern will each send three players to the championships, while Iowa will be represented by a doubles pair.

Click here to see which players were selected for the NCAA Championships.
Michigan and Northwestern will represent the Big Ten at the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships, with both teams receiving top-16 seeds in the national tournament. The 10th-seeded Wolverines earned an at-large bid to the championships, while the 16th-seeded Wildcats received an automatic berth after winning the Big Ten Tournament.

Click here for the complete release from the Big Ten.

WTEN: All-Big Ten Teams, Individual Awards Announced

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten announced today its women's tennis All-Conference teams and individual award winners at the conference tournament banquet. After winning its second-straight and third overall Big Ten Championship, Michigan swept the individual awards as Denise Muresan was named Athlete of the Year, Brooke Bolender earned Freshman of the Year honors and Ronni Bernstein picked up Coach of the Year laurels.

Click here to read more on the individual award winners and to see the All-Big Ten teams.

WTEN: Big Ten Tournament Preview

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
All 11 conference teams travel to Ann Arbor, Mich., for the 2011 Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament this weekend. The tournament, hosted by the University of Michigan, will begin on Thursday and conclude with the championship match on Sunday.

Click here for the complete preview of this weekend's tournament.

WTEN: Purdue's Schmidt Named Athlete of the Week

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Purdue's Mara Schmidt reels in the final Big Ten Women's Tennis Athlete of the Week honor of the season after helping the No. 68 Boilermakers to back-to-back conference wins over the weekend. Schmidt won two singles and two doubles matches.

Click here for the complete release from the Big Ten.
Illinois' Annie McCarthy has been tabbed the 2011 Wilson/ITA National Promoter of the Year, as announced last week. The award is given annually to individuals who promote the game of tennis at the collegiate level by devoting consistent time and effort to promotional activities and who support and bring awareness to either their school program or to the sport as a whole.

Click here to see Illinois' release on McCarthy and here to see the ITA's release. 

WTEN: Michigan Clinches Second-Straight Big Ten Title

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
After defeating Northwestern, 6-1, on Saturday afternoon, Michigan clinched its second-straight and third overall Big Ten Women's Tennis Championship. The 10th-ranked Wolverines finished the regular season at 10-0 in conference play and 20-3 overall.

Click here to see Michigan's recap.