Recently in Men's Gymnastics Category

MGYM: Penn State's Pineda Named Academic All-America

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Penn State's Miguel Pineda has been named to the 2011 Capital One Academic All-America At-Large First Team, the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) announced on Tuesday. Pineda, a science major, boasts a 3.99 grade-point average and is the lone men's gymnast to earn Academic All-America status.

Click here to see Penn State's release on Pineda.
Twenty-two Big Ten student athletes earned Capital One Academic All-District honors as announced on Thursday. Ten student-athletes received first-team recognition while 12 picked up second-team honors. The first-team honorees are now eligible for Academic All-America consideration. The complete list of Big Ten Academic All-District award recipients can be found below.


District II - First Team
Miguel Pineda, Penn State (gymnastics)

District IV - First Team
Sean Duddy, Ohio State (ice hockey)
Justin Farra, Ohio State (swimming and diving)
Brad Smith, Ohio State (golf)

District IV - Second Team
Carl Hagelin, Michigan (ice hockey)

District V - Second Team
Abe Souza, Illinois (tennis)
Eric Ress, Indiana (swimming and diving)
Ivan Gutesa, Minnesota (swimming and diving)
Matt Stewart, Purdue (swimming and diving)


District IV - First Team
Sarah Curtis, Michigan (gymnastics)

District IV - Second Team
Samantha Cheverton, Ohio State (swimming and diving)
Carolin Helmholz, Ohio State (rowing)

District V - First Team
Melissa Fernandez, Illinois (gymnastics)
Kaylee Jamison, Minnesota (swimming)
Kelsey Lindenschmidt, Northwestern (golf)
Allie Smith, Purdue (swimming)
Becca Ruegsegger, Wisconsin (ice hockey)

District V - Second Team
Allison Buckley, Illinois (gymnastics)
Margaux Farrell, Indiana (swimming)
Lauren Gustafson, Purdue (swimming)
Maggie Meyer, Wisconsin (swimming)
Carolyne Prevost, Wisconsin (ice hockey)
Ohio State has named Rustam Sharipov its head men's gymnastics coach as announced on Wednesday. Sharipov joins the Buckeyes after spending the the last six seasons as an assistant coach at Oklahoma. The Kharkov, Ukraine, native also has three Olympic medals, including two golds, to his credit.

Click here for more information on Sharipov.

MGYM: Final Rankings

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
All six Big Ten men's gymnastics teams have earned top-10 spots in the final GymInfo team rankings of the 2011 season. After advancing to the Super Six Team Finals at last weekend's NCAA Championships, Illinois rounds out the season ranked third in the country, while Michigan holds No. 5 and Penn State ranks sixth. Ohio State follows at No. 7, while Iowa sits at No. 8 and Minnesota ranks ninth nationally.

Click here to see the complete GymInfo poll.

MGYM: Three Win Individual National Titles

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Illinois' Tyler Mizoguchi and Daniel Ribeiro and Ohio State's Brandon Wynn earned individual national titles in the final night of the NCAA Men's Gymnastics Championships on Saturday.

Mizoguchi won his first national title on the parallel bars, scoring a 15.200, while Ribeiro took home his second title on the pommel horse, tallying a score of 15.500. Wynn notched his second-straight title on the still rings, posting a 16.000 en route to first place.

Fifteen other Big Ten gymnasts competed in the individual finals, with the conference contingent racking up 15 top-five finishes on the night.

Click here to see the complete release from the Big Ten.

MGYM: Michigan's Mikulak Wins NCAA All-Around Title

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Michigan's Sam Mikulak won the all-around title at the NCAA Men's Gymnastics Championships on Friday, becoming the second consecutive Wolverine gymnast to take home the national crown. Mikulak, the Big Ten Gymnast and Freshman of the Year, posted a score of 90.750 en route to the national title.

Click here for Michigan's release on Mikulak and here for the Big Ten release.

MGYM: Three Teams Advance to Super Six Team Finals

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
The Big Ten will be well-represented in the NCAA Men's Gymnastics Championships Super Six Team Finals on Friday, as Illinois, Michigan and Penn State will each compete for a national title. All three teams advanced to the finals after placing in the top three in their respective qualifiers on Thursday. Additionally, 20 individual Big Ten gymnasts earned spots in the event and all-around finals.

Click here for the complete release.
All six Big Ten men's gymnastics teams are set to compete in the NCAA Championships, hosted by Ohio State on April 14-16. The conference makes up half of the 12-team field that will compete for the national title this weekend.

Click here to see the complete preview of the NCAA Championships on the Big Ten website.

MGYM: All Six Big Ten Teams Selected to NCAA Qualifier

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
All six Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Men's Gymnastics National Qualifier on April 14 as announced on Tuesday. The qualifier will be hosted by Ohio State and will consist of two sessions featuring the top 12 teams in the country based on regional qualifying score (RQS). Three teams from each session will advance to the NCAA Championships on April 15-16, also hosted by Ohio State.

Click here to see the complete release from the Big Ten and here to see the release from the NCAA.

MGYM: Three Named Nissen-Emery Award Finalists

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Three Big Ten men's gymnasts have been named finalists for the 2011 Nissen-Emery Award, given to the nation's top senior gymnast. Illinois' Daniel Ribeiro, Michigan's Chris Cameron and Ohio State's Brandon Wynn are among the seven finalists for the honor, which will be awarded on April 13 at the NCAA Championships Banquet.

Ribeiro, a three-time Big Ten Champion, took first place on the pommel horse at the Big Ten Championships last weekend. Cameron picked up Big Ten Gymnast of the Year honors and was crowned the NCAA all-around champion in 2010, helping the Wolverines to the national title. Wynn won his second-straight Big Ten title on the still rings last weekend after winning the national title in the event last season.

A Big Ten gymnast has been honored with the Nissen-Emery Award in five of the last six seasons, with Illinois' Luke Stannard taking home the accolade last season.