Recently in Women's Basketball Category

100 Days of the Big Ten Medal of Honor: Day 12

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Many Big Ten Medal of Honor winners enter the coaching realm after their playing careers are through and a few have ended up at conference institutions, including at least four current Big Ten head coaches. Michigan field hockey coach Marcia Pankratz won the Big Ten Medal of Honor at Iowa in 1986, while three conference coaches presently coach at their alma mater - Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald (1997, football), Purdue's Sharon Versyp (1988, women's basketball) and Wisconsin's Mike Eaves (1978, hockey).

Friday's WNIT Result

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Michigan 86, Stony Brook 48
Behind a season-high 11 three-pointers from the Wolverines and a 13-point, 13-assist performance from junior guard Shannon Smith, the University of Michigan women's basketball team rolled to an 86-48 win over Stony Brook in the opening round of the WNIT on Friday night at Crisler Center. In addition to her 13 points and 13 assists, Smith chipped in four steals and four rebounds in 32 minutes of action. Freshman guard Siera Thompson went for 17 points, three rebounds and three steals, while sophomore guard Madison Ristovski hit a career-best five three-pointers en route to 15 points and eight rebounds. RECAP

Friday's WNIT Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Stony Brook at Michigan, 7 p.m. ET, BTDN

Thursday's WNIT Results

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Indiana 48, Belmont 47
The Indiana women's basketball team won its first postseason game since 2009 with a 48-47 victory over Belmont in Assembly Hall on Thursday night. Three Hoosiers scored in double figures as Larryn Brooks and Lyndsay Leikem each had 11 points and Simone Deloach added 10 points. Indiana just had seven turnovers in the game, marking the ninth time this year the Hoosiers have had less than 10 miscues in a game. The Hoosiers will take on Marquette in the second round of the WNIT on Saturday, March 22 in Assembly Hall. That game will tip at 7 p.m. ET. RECAP

Northwestern 69, Ball State 65
Four Wildcat underclassmen, who were all making their first postseason appearance, finished in double figures Thursday night in the opening round of the WNIT, helping Northwestern defeat Ball State, 69-65. Freshman point guard Ashley Deary had a solid second half with 12 points to finish with 15 for the game and freshman Christen Inman sunk a late jumper to help NU hang on for the win. Northwestern will host IUPUI at Welsh-Ryan Arena in the second round of the WNIT on Sunday, March 23 at 2 p.m. Freshman Nia Coffey and sophomore Lauren Douglas led NU with 17 each while Deary's 15 were close behind. Deary had a solid stat line, adding seven rebounds, six assists and three steals. RECAP

Thursday's WNIT Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Belmont vs. Indiana, 7 p.m. ET, BTDN
Ball State at Northwestern, 8 p.m. ET, BTDN

Wednesday's WNIT Result

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Minnesota 62, Green Bay 60
Junior guard Rachel Banham broke a 29-year old scoring record and in doing so, powered the University of Minnesota women's basketball team to a 62-60 opening round victory over Green Bay in the 2014 Women's National Invitation Tournament. Minnesota (21-12) moves on to face the winner of SMU-Texas Southern in the second round, with game date, time and location to be determined. Scoring a game-high 31 points, Banham increased her season-scoring total to 714 points, a new school record. It was the sixth 30-plus point game for the Lakeville, Minn., native this season, and she was joined in double figures by Amanda Zahui B. The Big Ten Freshman of the Year posted her 16th double-double of the season (17 points, 14 rebounds) along with five blocks. RECAP

Wednesday's Postseason Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Green Bay at Minnesota, 8 p.m. ET, BTDN

100 Days of the Big Ten Medal of Honor: Day 9

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
At least 187 Big Ten Medal of Honor winners have earned Academic All-America distinction, including nine three-time honorees - Michigan's Diane Dietz (1982, women's basketball) and Steve Grote (1977, men's basketball), Michigan State's Michelle Carson (2004, women's track & field), Chris Hill (2005, men's basketball) and Drew Neitzel (2008, men's basketball), Minnesota's Matthew Nohelty (2009, baseball), Northwestern's Shon Morris (1988, men's basketball), Ohio State's Kevin Stephan (2002, men's lacrosse) and Penn State's Joanna Lohman (2005, women's soccer). 

Four Teams Earn Bids to the Postseason WNIT

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Four Big Ten teams earned berths in the 2014 Postseason WNIT, it was announced on Monday night. Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota and Northwestern each earned bids to the 64-team field. Michigan earns a postseason berth for the fifth straight season and returns to the WNIT for the first time since 2011, and will host Stony Brook on Friday. Minnesota makes its second straight WNIT appearance and welcomes Green Bay on Wednesday, Northwestern will take part in postseason competition for the first time since 2011 when it hosts Ball State on Thursday and Indiana makes its first appearance in a postseason tournament since 2009 when it takes on Belmont at Assembly Hall on Thursday.

Five Teams Ranked in Top 20 of Latest AP Poll

| No Comments | No TrackBacks
Five Big Ten teams appear in the top 20 of the latest Associated Press rankings, which were released on Monday. Nebraska and Penn State are tops in the standings, with the Huskers appearing at No. 13 and the Lady Lions checking in at No. 14. Purdue is ranked 17th, with Iowa and Michigan State rounding out the top 20 at No. 19 and No. 20, respectively.
Multimedia Store