Recently in Women's Swimming & Diving Category

WSWM: Four Named to World University Games Teams

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Indiana's Ashley Jones and Taylor Wohrley, along with Penn State's Amy Modglin and Wisconsin's Ashley Wanland will represent the United States as they compete in the 2011 World University Games, Aug. 14-19 in Shenzhen, China. The Big Ten boasts the second highest competitiors with four, behind the Pac-12 with eight.

Known internationally as the Summer Universiade, the multi-sport event takes place every two years and is considered the second largest international competition behind the Olympic Games. It boasts competitors from around the world and is open to student-athletes between the ages of 17 and 28 who are less than one year removed from college or its equivalent.

To see the list of all competing participants, click here.

The conference office announced on Tuesday the 2011 Big Ten Women's Swimmer and Diver of the Year award winners as voted on by the conference's coaches. Wisconsin's Maggie Meyer captured Swimmer of the Year honors, while Minnesota's Kelci Bryant was a unanimous pick for Diver of the Year after winning the award last season.

Meyer won the NCAA 200-yard backstroke title in a time of 1:50.76, setting a new school record. After ending the season undefeated in the event, the senior also recorded the fastest time in the country this year. The White Bear Lake, Minn., native earned Wisconsin's first women's individual national title in program history. Meyer ended the 2011 NCAA meet as a six-time All-American and earned 18 All-America or honorable mention All-America accolades throughout the course of her career. Meyer's award is the seventh in Badger history and first since Yo Ying Siow accomplished the feat in 2007.

After earning the national title in the three-meter springboard last season, Bryant captured the one-meter diving title during this year's NCAA Championships with a score of 349.65, becoming the first two-time national champion in Gopher history. For her performance at the national two-day event, Bryant was named the College Swimming Coaches Association of America Diver of the Championships. The first-team All-Big Ten honoree also earned Diver of the Championships accolades earlier this season as she took the conference titles in both springboard events.

WSWM: Bryant, Chen Honored after NCAA Championships

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Minnesota junior Kelci Bryant and Golden Gopher diving coach Wenbo Chen received top honors from the College Swimming Coaches Association of American (CSCAA) following the NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships.

Bryant is the first athlete to win multiple NCAA titles in Minnesota swimming and diving history. Chen coached both Bryant and freshman Maggie Keefer to All-America honors at the 2011 Championships.



Minnesota sophomore Haley Spencer captured the national title in the 200-yard breaststroke giving the Gophers their third individual title at the 2011 Women's Swimming & Diving Championships. Spencer won the crown with a career-best time of 2:06.12.

The Golden Gophers led all Big Ten teams competing at the national event, tallying 192 points, collecting its best finish at the national meet and scoring the most points at NCAAs in Gopher history. Wisconsin amasssed 160 tallies to place 11th, followed by Indiana in 15th with 86.5 points and Ohio State in 17th place, earning 64 total points. Purdue(25), Iowa(T30), Michigan(T30) and Penn State (35) round out the conference contingent.

Wisconsin senior Maggie Meyer claimed the schools first NCAA individual title in school swimming history. Meyer won the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:50.76, a new school and Big Ten Conference record. The White Bear Lake, Minn., native ended the season with the fastest time in the country this year.

The national title went to California with 424 points, earning the Golden Bears' second NCAA crown in three years.


Click here for the entire recap.

Minnesota senior Jillian Tyler swam to the national title, winning the 100-yard breaststroke in day two of the 2011 NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships. The Calgary, Alberta native, finished in a time of 58.39 seconds, after two runner-up finishes in 2008 and 2009. Tyler is the second Golden Gopher to win the NCAA title in the 100 breast. Defending NCAA 3-meter champion, Kelci Bryant earned a runner-up finish with a score of 395.85.

For the complete recap of the NCAA Championships, click here.

Minnesota junior Kelci Bryant captured the 1-meter diving national title at the 2011 NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships in Austin, Texas on Thursday. Bryant gathered 349.65 points to win the crown.

After six events in the books, the Gophers pace all Big Ten teams in eighth place with 67 team points, followed by Wisconsin at 56 and Ohio State at No. 16 with 18 points. After day one, Indiana sits at No. 20 while Penn State and Michigan are tied at No. 26 on the team leaderboard. Purdue rounds out the conference contingent at No. 29 with five team points.

For the complete recap, click here.

WSWM: Big Ten Sends 11 Divers to NCAA Championships

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Eleven Big Ten divers qualified last weekend for the 2011 NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championships. The Championships begin this Thursday March 17-19 at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center in Austin, Texas. The follow is a list of the participants: Indiana's Gabby Agostino and Amy Cozad, Iowa's Deidre Freeman and Veronica Rydze, Michigan's Amanda Lohman, Minnesota's Kelci Bryant and Margaret Keefer, Ohio State's Bianca Alvarez and Katherine Bell and Purdue's Kara Cook and Erin Mertz.

WSWM: Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks


Boiler-Make-It NCAA Last Chance Meet, 11 a.m. ET [1]



Gopher-It-Invite, 1 ET


[1] -- West Lafayette, Ind.

WSWM: Indiana Captures Third Straight Big Ten Championship

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Indiana captured its third straight conference title on the strength of Brittany Barwegen and Laura Ryan on the final day of competition at the Big Ten Women's Swimming and Diving Championships in Bloomington, Ind.

The Hoosiers amassed 821 points over the four-day event to successfully defend the conference crown. Minnesota finished second with 578 and Ohio State was third with 456. Penn State tallied 391 points while Purdue compiled 355.5 points to round out the top five in the final team standings.

Click here to read the full release.

WSWM: Weekend Schedule

| No Comments | No TrackBacks


Big Ten Championships, All Day [1]



Big Ten Championships, All Day [1]


[1] -- Bloomington, Ind.