Big Ten Continues Black History Month Celebration

Feb. 1, 2011

Park Ridge, Ill. - In a continued effort to commemorate the achievements of African-Americans on Big Ten campuses, the conference office announced on Tuesday the 22 student-athletes to be recognized on the Big Ten's Black History Month website. Throughout February, the website will feature stories on current and former student-athletes from each institution that can be accessed at

This year's distinguished group is comprised of Illinois' Mannie Jackson (basketball) and Celena Mondie-Milner (track & field), Indiana's Quinn Buckner (basketball) and Faith Sherrill (track & field), Iowa's Anthuan Maybank (track & field) and Peaches Roach (track & field), Michigan's Gene Derricotte (football) and Joyce Wilson Eder (track & field), Michigan State's Steve Smith (basketball) and Odessa Smalls-Arthur (track & field), Minnesota's Darrell Thompson (football) and Crystal Flint (basketball), Northwestern's Billy McKinney (basketball) and Ndidi Opia Massay (softball), Ohio State's Corey Morrison (wrestling) and Cassie Dickerson (soccer), Penn State's Bob White (football), and Shana Cox (track & field), Purdue's Rosevelt Colvin (football) and Shahara Nixon Byford (softball) and Wisconsin's Chris Nelson (ice hockey) and Pam Moore (track & field)

The Black History Month website also features stories on the conference's first African-American student-athlete--Moses "Fleetwood" Walker--and arguably the most famous track and field athlete of all-time, Jesse Owens. The website also includes archived stories on student-athletes previously recognized on the Big Ten's Black History Month website. In addition, the site features information on the Big Ten's contributions through the Advisory Commission, the SCORE (Success Comes Out of Reading Everyday) program and the C.D. Henry internship.