Big Ten Recognizes Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

March 22, 2017

2017 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Big Ten Conference recognized a total of 792 students competing in winter sports who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team Wednesday. 

The list of honorees features 44 men's and 61 women's basketball players, 65 men's and 73 women's gymnasts, 74 men's hockey players, 147 men's and 206 women's swimmers and divers and 122 wrestlers.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 12 of the winter honorees have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Courtney Aycock, Michigan State women's swimming & diving (So., Kinesiology)
Danielle Breen, Nebraska women's gymnastics (Jr., Accounting)
Ally Disterhoft, Iowa women's basketball (Sr., Accounting and Finance)
Lindsay Helferich, Nebraska women's swimming & diving (Jr., Civil Engineering)
James McGraw, Ohio State men's swimming & diving (So., Biomedical Engineering)
PJ Ransford, Michigan men's swimming & diving (Jr., Mechanical Engineering)        
Noah Roberson, Penn State men's gymnastics (Jr., Biomedical Engineering)
Hannah Sakaluk, Indiana women's swimming & diving (So., Mathematics)
Katt Sickle, Nebraska women's swimming & diving (Sr., Teaching, Learning & Teacher Education)       
Heidi Surdyk, Michigan State women's swimming & diving (So., Business)
Gabe Whitaker, Michigan State men's swimming & diving (So., Business-Preference)
Devon Van Cura, Penn State wrestling (Jr., Chemistry)  

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year.

The complete listing of 2017 Academic All-Big Ten honorees for winter sports is attached.