Big Ten Recognizes 24 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

May 29, 2014

2013-14 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten announced on Thursday the 24 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2013-14 academic year. These standouts were chosen from a group of more than 300 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 2014 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is included as a PDF at the top of this release.

2014 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Nathan Scheelhaase, Football
Jenna Mychko, Softball

Dustin DeMuth, Baseball
Amanda Redfern, Water Polo

James Morris, Football
Theairra Taylor, Basketball

Shaun Bernstein, Tennis
Courtney Beidler, Swimming & Diving

Michigan State
Antonio James, Track & Field
Tori Franklin, Track & Field

Nate Condon, Hockey
Hannah Brandt, Hockey

C.J. Zimmerer, Football
Sunny Russell, Rifle

Jack Quigley, Baseball
Jackie Powell, Swimming & Diving

Ohio State
2014 Baseball team
Claudia Lim, Golf

Penn State
David Glen, Hockey
Christina Vosters, Golf

Adam Schenk, Golf
Maia Monchek, Softball

Chris Borland, Football
Monica Whitehouse, Rowing