Big Ten Recognizes 28 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

June 3, 2015

Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Honorees

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- The Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 28 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2014-15 academic year. These standouts were chosen from a group of more than 350 students honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship. 

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 2015 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below.

2015 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners
Reilly O'Toole, Football
Melissa Kopinski, Tennis

Mark Murphy, Football
Nakel McClinton, Outdoor Track and Field
Mark Weisman, Football
Melissa Dixon, Basketball

Sal Conaboy, Football
Malina Howard, Basketball
Devin Gardner, Football
Nicole Elmblad, Basketball
Michigan State    
David Zoltowski, Swimming
Becky Stiles, Field Hockey
Cedric Thompson, Football
Kate Bucknam, Cross Country
Ameer Abdullah, Football
Samantha Areman, Soccer
Connor Holloway, Soccer
Brooke Jones, Lacrosse
Ohio State    
Logan Stieber, Wrestling
Kayla Sullivan, Ice Hockey

Penn State    
Darrell Hill, Outdoor Track and Field
Kindrah Kohne, Soccer 
Matt McClintock, Cross Country
Krisztina Kapitany, Tennis 
Ken Theobold, Wrestling
Greta Leberfinger, Swimming 
Joel Rumpel, Hockey 
Aja Van Hout, Swimming