Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee Spotlight - Alex Rigsby (Wisconsin)

Rigsby led Wisconsin to its seventh Frozen Four appearance.

June 19, 2014

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight the student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Monday, June 23, at 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT on BTN.

Alex Rigsby – Wisconsin – Hockey

A 2014 first-team All-American, Rigsby led the women’s hockey squad to its seventh Frozen Four appearance and set the program record for career wins with 100, which is tied for the second most in NCAA history. The senior finished the year ranked third in the nation in goals-against average (1.32) and tied for the nation’s lead in save percentage (.945). During her Wisconsin career, Rigsby paced the Badgers to a national title in 2011 and helped the Cardinal and White appear in three Frozen Fours. Rigsby’s 3,126 career saves are the most in school history, while her career save percentage of .941 is tied for the program’s best mark. Click HERE for more information on Alex.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Natalie Cafone, Iowa field hockey

Tony Ramos, Iowa wrestling

Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State golf

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State football

Dani Bunch, Purdue track & field

Raheem Mostert, Purdue track & field/football

Emily Wong, Nebraska gymnastics

Miles Ukaoma, Nebraska track & field

Catherine Shields, Ohio State rowing

Logan Stieber, Ohio State wrestling