Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee - MINN's Amanda Kessel

Kessel led the Gophers to their second consecutive national title.

June 21, 2013

Through Tuesday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced next week.

Amanda Kessel - Minnesota - Women's Ice Hockey
Kessel averaged 2.66 points per game, guiding the Gophers to an undefeated 41-0-0 season en route to their second consecutive national championship. The junior, who led the country in scoring, became just the fourth player in NCAA history to score 100 points in a season (46 goals, 55 assists). She is the 24th player to surpass 200 career points and only the ninth to do so in three seasons. Kessel won the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, was named USA Hockey's Bob Allen Women's Player of the Year, USCHO Co-Player of the Year, WCHA Player of the Year and first-team All-American.  Click HERE for more information on Amanda.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving 

Derek St. John, Iowa wrestling

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey    

Connor Jaeger, Michigan men's swimming & diving

Joanna Sampson, Michigan women's gymnastics

Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State football  

Caroline Powers, Michigan State women's golf  

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestling