Big Ten Baseball Opens 2018 Season
Feb. 15, 2018


ROSEMONT, Ill. - All 13 Big Ten baseball teams will begin the 2018 season this weekend. Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Penn State, Purdue and Rutgers will compete in road series, while Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Nebraska and Ohio State will compete in tournaments.

Maryland will play a three-game series at Tennessee. Michigan will travel to Port St. Lucie, Fla., to take on Army in a three-game set, while Michigan State will play Fresno State in a four-game series. Minnesota will hit the diamond against Georgia Tech on Friday, before playing a pair at Kennesaw State on Saturday. Northwestern and Penn State will each compete in a three-game series with the Wildcats traveling to Glendale, Ariz., to play Nebraska Omaha and the Nittany Lions heading to Elon, N.C., to take on Elon. Purdue ventures south to Waco, Texas, for a three-game tilt against Baylor and Rutgers will play three at Miami.

Illinois will travel to Beaumont, Texas, to take on Lamar and Missouri State at the Lamar Cardinal Classic, while Indiana will head to Myrtle Beach, S.C., to face Oklahoma, Kansas State, South Alabama and Coastal Carolina in the 19th annual Brittain Resorts Baseball at the Beach event. Iowa opens its slate at the Diamond Nine Sunshine State Classic Series in Kissimmee, Fla., taking on Toledo, Oakland and Old Dominion, while Nebraska will play four games against UC Riverside and Washington State in Tempe, Ariz., at the Husker Classic. Ohio State opens up the season at the Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla., and will take on UW-Milwaukee and Canisius.

Indiana was selected as the preseason Big Ten favorite following a vote of the conference coaches. The Hoosiers were followed in the preseason poll by Nebraska in second place, No. 3 Minnesota, Maryland in fourth place, No. 5 Michigan and Iowa in sixth place. In addition, the conference coaches selected a Preseason Honors list, which can be found on