Big Ten Network To Televise Eight Spring Championships

April 22, 2010

May is the month for spring championships, and the Big Ten Network will televise eight Big Ten events in the sports of baseball, men’s and women’s golf, rowing, men’s and women’s tennis and men’s and women’s outdoor track and field. Each of these events will be produced in high definition.

Broadcast coverage begins at 5 PM ET on Sunday, May 9, with the Big Ten Women’s Tennis Tournament from the campus of the University of Iowa. The Big Ten Men’s Tennis Tournament, hosted by Indiana, will follow at 7 PM ET.

At noon ET on Sunday, May 16, the Big Ten Network will televise the Big Ten Rowing Championships from East Lansing. At 5 PM ET, the Big Ten Network will show the Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships, hosted by Wisconsin.

At 4 PM ET on Saturday, May 22, the network will have coverage of the Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Championships from Indiana University. The Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships, hosted by the University of Minnesota at Windsong Farm Golf Club, will air at noon ET on Sunday, May 23.

For the second straight year, the Big Ten Network will televise every game of the Big Ten Baseball Tournament live. The event will take place May 26-29, with a game on May 30 if necessary, from Bill Davis Stadium in Columbus, Ohio. Coverage begins with two opening-round games at noon ET on Wed., May 26.

In the latest polls, the Big Ten has nationally ranked teams in the sports of men’s golf (No. 11 Illinois), women’s golf (No. 8 Purdue, No. 13 Michigan State and No. 19 Ohio State), women’s rowing (No. 8 Michigan State, No. 11 Michigan, No. 14 Wisconsin and No. 15 Ohio State), men’s tennis (No. 4 Ohio State and No. 14 Illinois), women’s tennis (No. 4 Michigan, No. 6 Northwestern, No. 21 Illinois), men’s track and field (No. 20 Minnesota and No. 24 Wisconsin ) and women’s track and field (No. 6 Penn State and No. 23 Illinois).



The complete television schedule for the 2010 Big Ten Spring Championships and Tournaments appears below. For more information on these events, go to or

Big Ten Network Spring Championships and Tournaments Schedule:

Sport Dates Site Air Date and Time ET
(W) Tennis April 29-May 2 Iowa Sunday, 5/9 - 5 PM
(M) Tennis April 29-May 2 Indiana Sunday, 5/9 – 7 PM
Rowing May 1 Michigan State Sunday, 5/16 – Noon
(W) Golf April 23-25 Wisconsin Sunday, 5/16 – 5 PM
(M&W) Track and Field May 14-16 Indiana Saturday, 5/22 – 4 PM
(M) Golf April 30-May 2 Minnesota Sunday, 5/23 – Noon
Baseball May 26-29 Columbus, Ohio Details Below






Big Ten Baseball Tournament Schedule:

Game Date Air Time (ET)  
1 Wed. May 26 Noon  
2 Wed. May 26 3:30 PM  
3 Thurs. May 27 Noon  
4 Thurs. May 27 3:30 PM  
5 Thurs. May 27 7 PM  
6 Fri. May 28 Noon  
7 Fri. May 28 3:30 PM  
8 Fri. May 28 7 PM  
9 Sat. May 29 3:30 PM  
10 Sat. May 29 7 PM  
11 (if necessary) Sun. May 30 Noon  









About the Big Ten Conference: The Big Ten Conference is an association of 11 world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in student-athletes’ lives and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. Big Ten universities provide more than $100 million in direct financial aid to more than 8,500 men and women student-athletes who compete for 25 championships, 12 for men and 13 for women. Conference institutions sponsor broad-based athletic programs with more than 270 teams. For more information, visit

About the Big Ten Network: The Big Ten Network is the first internationally distributed network dedicated to covering one of the premier collegiate conferences in the country. With approximately 350 live sporting events, and nearly all of them in HD, the network is the ultimate destination for Big Ten fans and alumni across the country, allowing them to see their favorite teams, regardless of where they live. The network operates 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, showcasing a wide array of classic-to-current sports and televising more Olympic sporting events and women’s sports than has ever been aired on any other network. Original programming highlights activities and accomplishments of some of the nation’s finest universities.


 Each year, the network offers between 35 and 40 football games, 105 regular season men’s basketball games; 55 women’s basketball games; dozens of Big Ten Championship events; studio shows; coaches’ shows; and classic games. Available to all cable and satellite providers nationwide and in Canada, the network currently has agreements with more than 300 affiliates, including AT&T U-Verse, Atlantic Broadband, Cablevision, Charter, Comcast, Cox (Cleveland, Arizona, Arkansas, Kansas, Omaha), DirecTV, DISH Network, Insight, Mediacom, Rogers Cable (Canada), Shaw Cable and Shaw Direct (Canada), Time Warner Cable and Verizon FiOS. For updated information on the Big Ten Network, go to