Big Ten Baseball Tournament Release

May 21, 2013

Big Ten Baseball Tournament Release Get Acrobat Reader | Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

The 2013 Big Ten Baseball Tournament will be held May 22-25 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn. Look below for tournament notes, and click the link at the top of the story for more information. Follow @B1Gbaseball on Twitter for coverage throughout the tournament.

TOURNAMENT NOTES: The 2013 Big Ten Baseball Tournament marks the 33rd time the event has been played and the 11th time it has been played under the current format (six teams, double elimination) ... This year's tournament is the Big Ten's fifth consecutive neutral-site event and seventh overall ... This marks the seventh time the tournament has been played in the city of Minneapolis and the first time it has been held at Target Field ... Since the tournament began seeding in 1988, the No. 1 seed has won the event 10 times, while the No. 2 seed has won seven championships, followed by the No. 3 seed (four times), the No. 4 seed (two times) and the Nos. 5 and 6 seeds (one time each) ... Of this year's participants, five teams have combined to win 31 titles (Minnesota – 9, Michigan – 8, Ohio State – 8, Illinois – 4, Indiana – 2). Nebraska is looking for its first Big Ten Tournament championship ... The six teams in this year's tournament are a combined 200-152 (.574) in all-time tournament games ... This year's field has combined to make 101 all-time tournament appearances.