Big Ten Announces Baseball All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

May 22, 2012

2012 All-Big Ten Baseball Teams and Individual Award Winners Get Acrobat Reader

PARK RIDGE, Ill. – After winning its first Big Ten Championship in over 100 years, Purdue earned three individual conference awards, as catcher Kevin Plawecki was named Player of the Year, Joe Haase was named Pitcher of the Year, and Doug Schreiber was named Coach of the Year, becoming the first Boilermakers in conference history to take home the respective honors. Indiana’s Sam Travis was named the conference’s Freshman of the Year.

Purdue’s first Big Ten Player of the Year since the award was first given in 1982, Plawecki is a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Player of the Year Trophy and the Johnny Bench Catcher of the Year Award. The junior finished the conference season ranked first in the Big Ten in batting average (.396) and tied for third in on-base percentage (.464). Plawecki also earns first-team All-Big Ten recognition for the second consecutive season.

Haase is Purdue’s first conference Pitcher of the Year since the Big Ten began giving out the award in 1994. The senior enters the 2012 Big Ten Tournament with a conference-leading nine wins this year, including seven during conference action. He finished the Big Ten schedule with a 2.59 ERA and held opponents to a .236 batting average, which both rank among the conference’s elite. Haase is also a unanimous selection to the All-Big Ten first team.

Schreiber becomes the first Purdue head coach to be named Coach of the Year since the award was first handed out in 1988. Under his guidance, the Boilermakers were nationally ranked in all major polls for the majority of the season and maintained an RPI among the nation’s top 10. Schreiber led the Boilermakers to their first Big Ten title since 1909, shattering the school’s previous wins record of 37, as the squad enters the Big Ten Tournament with a 41-12 record.

Travis is the second Indiana player to earn Freshman of the Year honors, following Alex Dickerson in 2009. The first baseman finished the Big Ten season ranked first in the conference in RBI (27), tied for third in home runs (6) and sixth in slugging percentage (.577). Travis is also a second-team All-Big Ten selection at first base and is a unanimous All-Freshman Team pick.

Plawecki and Haase are joined on the All-Big Ten first team by teammates Eric Charles (2B) and Cameron Perkins (3B), who is also a unanimous pick. Also on the first team are Illinois’ Willie Argo (OF), Indiana’s Jonny Hoffman (RP), Michigan State’s Jordan Keur (OF), Minnesota’s TJ Oakes (SP), Nebraska’s Chad Christensen (SS), Rich Sanguinetti (OF), Michael Pritchard (DH), Ohio State’s Jaron Long (SP) and Penn State’s Jordan Steranka (1B).

The Big Ten also announced the Sportsmanship Award honorees from each institution. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The complete list of All-Big Ten teams and award winners can be found by clicking the link at the top of the page.