Indiana Wins 2009 Big Ten Baseball Tournament

Chris Hervey helped Indiana win its first Big Ten Tournament title since 1996.

May 23, 2009

Indiana won the 2009 Big Ten Baseball Tournament championship with a 13-2 victory over Minnesota on Saturday evening at Huntington Park in Columbus, Ohio.

The tournament title is the Hoosiers’ second overall and the program’s first since 1996. The championship also gives Indiana its first bid to the NCAA Championship since 1996 and the team’s second overall.

Minnesota advanced to the championship game by virtue of a 9-6 win over Ohio State in the first game of the day.

Indiana’s Game 2 starter Matt Bashore was named the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament, while he and four other Hoosiers earned spots on the All-Tournament Team. The complete list of All-Tournament selections can be found below.

The 2009 Big Ten Baseball Tournament drew a total of 12,219 fans over a four-day period, marking the conference’s highest overall attendance number in at least the past decade. The previous high in that span was 6,728, set in 1999 when Ohio State hosted the tournament at Bill Davis Stadium.

The single-day high for the 2009 event was 4,575, set on Thursday, marking the largest total in at least the past decade. The single-day mark exceeds the previous high of 3,012, also set in 1999.

2009 Big Ten Baseball All-Tournament Team
P – Eric Arnett, Indiana
P – Matt Bashore, Indiana
P – Tom Buske, Minnesota
C – Dan Burkhart, Ohio State
1B – Nick O’Shea, Minnesota
2B – Derek McCallum, Minnesota
3B – Vince Gonzalez, Indiana
SS – Jake Dunning, Indiana
OF – Pete Cappetta, Illinois
OF – Kipp Schutz, Indiana
OF – Eric Decker, Minnesota
DH – Alex Dickerson

Most Outstanding Player: Matt Bashore, Indiana