Big Ten Baseball Weekly Release - NCAA Regionals

Michael Pritchard and Nebraska face Cal State Fullerton in their NCAA Regional opener on Friday at 1 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

May 29, 2014

Big Ten Weekly Release Get Acrobat Reader

Indiana and Nebraska were selected to the 2014 NCAA Championship, marking the third straight year multiple Big Ten teams will appear in the field. The Huskers are making their 13th all-time appearance, while Indiana advances to the field for the fourth time in program history.

Indiana becomes the first Big Ten team to earn a national seed since the NCAA began seeding the top eight in 1999. Nebraska has been a national seed three times in its history, all coming prior to joining the Big Ten (2001, 2005 and 2006).

Indiana won its second straight Big Ten Tournament Championship in front of an NCAA conference tournament record crowd of 19,965 last Sunday. A full recap of the 2014 Big Ten Baseball Tournament can be found on Page 4 of this release.

The Hoosiers and Huskers each carry 40 or more wins into the NCAA Tournament, marking the first time since 2009 two Big Ten teams have reached the landmark. Indiana has won 42 games, while Nebraska has 40 triumphs this season. In 2009, Ohio State finished the year with 42 wins and Minnesota had 40 victories.

Ninety-six Big Ten baseball players earned Academic All-Big Ten honors this week, part of 1,216 spring and at-large student-athletes that were honored by the conference. To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.