Minnesota Wins 2010 Big Ten Baseball Tournament

May 29, 2010

Minnesota won the 2010 Big Ten Baseball Tournament championship, defeating Iowa, 15-5, on Saturday night. The tournament title is the Gophers' ninth overall and first since 2004. With the victory, Minnesota earns the Big Ten's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

Phil Isaksson allowed just one run on five hits and two walks with five strikeouts in 7.1 innings on the mound, while Matt Puhl led the Gophers on offense, going 4-for-5 with two runs. AJ Pettersen had two hits on the night and drove in a game-high four runs while scoring two. Michael Kvasnicka was 3-for-5 with a pair of doubles, two runs and an RBI.

For the Hawkeyes, Nick Brown gave up four runs, two earned, on eight hits in a 4.2-inning start. Kurtis Muller went 2-for-4 with a double, scored one run and drove another in.

At the conclusion of the championship contest, the Big Ten announced the All-Tournament Team. Selections are listed below.


Jarred Hippen, Iowa
Bobby Brosnahan, Michigan
Phil Isaksson, Minnesota
Scott Matyas, Minnesota
Matt Bischoff, Purdue

Kyle Knudson, Minnesota

First Base:
Mike Dufek, Michigan

Second Base:
Anthony Toth, Michigan

AJ Pettersen, Minnesota

Third Base:
John Lorenz, Michigan

Alex Dickerson, Indiana
Kurtis Muller, Iowa
Ryan LaMarre, Michigan

Designated Hitter:
Drew Madia, Purdue

Kyle Knudson, Minnesota

*Additional honorees due to ties