Big Ten Recognizes 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

June 3, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten announced on Wednesday the 22 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2010-11 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 2011 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is attached as a PDF.

2011 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners
Bill Cole, Sr., Men's Basketball
Nicole Kump, Sr., Volleyball

Andy Bayer, So., Men's Cross Country
Sara Olson, Sr., Softball

Chris Brant, Jr., Men's Golf
Kelsey Cermak, Sr., Women's Basketball

Frank Shotwell, Sr., Men's Track and Field
Dorian Shaw, Sr., Softball

Michigan State
Brandon Eckerle, Sr., Baseball
Kathryn Mahoney, Sr., Women's Gymnastics

Blake Hoffarber, Sr., Men's Basketball
Dannie Skrove, Jr., Softball

Matt Gailey, Sr., Baseball
Rebecca Lederhausen, Sr., Women's Golf

Ohio State
Paul Beery, Sr., Men's Lacrosse
Deborah Shim, Sr., Synchronized Swimming

Penn State
T.J. Howe, Sr., Men's Golf
Maggie Dunbar, Sr., Women's Lacrosse

Ryan Kerrigan, Sr., Football
Jaclyn Hart, Sr., Volleyball

Scott Tolzien, Sr., Football
Meghan Duggan, Sr., Women's Ice Hockey