Big Ten Medal of Honor Winners Announced

June 8, 2011

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference office announced on Wednesday the 2011 Medal of Honor winners. The award was established in 1914 when the Big Ten endowed a Medal of Honor to be given annually to a student in the graduating class of each university that demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics. In 1982, the Medal of Honor was expanded to include a senior female athlete from each institution.

This year, 22 student-athletes, representing 14 sports, have been chosen for the Medal of Honor. Twenty-one of this year's honorees earned Academic All-Big Ten status, while 16 of the recipients were named All-Big Ten selections.

The 2011 Big Ten Medal of Honor winners are listed below.

Scott Langley, Men's Golf
Hillary Haen, Women's Volleyball

Ben Chappell, Football
Vera Neuenswander, Women's Track & Field

Julian Vandervelde, Football
Bethany Praska, Women's Track & Field

Carl Hagelin, Men's Ice Hockey
Sarah Curtis, Women's Gymnastics

Michigan State
Brandon Eckerle, Baseball
Aimee Neff, Women's Golf

Mike Thorn, Wrestling
Kaylee Jamison, Women's Swimming & Diving

Matt Eliason, Men's Soccer
Maria Mosolova, Women's Tennis

Ohio State
Steven Kehoe, Men's Volleyball
Cassie Dickerson, Women's Soccer

Penn State
Stefen Wisniewski, Football
Jessica Babcock, Women's Track & Field

Kyle Adams, Football
Allie Smith, Women's Swimming & Diving

Gabe Carimi, Football
Maggie Meyer, Women's Swimming & Diving