Basketball Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Jan. 4, 2018

Four Big Ten basketball seniors from three conference schools are among 60 candidates for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award, which is presented annually to one male and one female senior student who have made notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

On the women’s side, the Indiana duo of Tyra Buss and Amanda Cahill, and Minnesota’s Carlie Wagner were chosen as Senior CLASS Award candidates. Northwestern’s Bryant McIntosh was the Big Ten men’s basketball representative on this year’s Senior CLASS Award candidate list.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to fields of 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male and one female recipient.

The Senior CLASS Award honorees will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit