Senior CLASS Award Finalists

Feb. 16, 2017

2017 Senior CLASS Award Finalists Release

Four Big Ten basketball students — two men and two women — from three conference schools are among the 20 finalists for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award. The honor is presented annually to one male and one female senior student who have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Iowa’s Peter Jok and Wisconsin’s Nigel Hayes, as well as the Maryland duo of Brionna Jones and Shatori Walker-Kimbrough are the Big Ten basketball representatives among this year’s Senior CLASS Award finalists.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 20. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the first week of April at the NCAA Men’s Final Four in Glendale, Ariz., and the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Dallas.

For more information on each of the finalists, including, visit