Big Ten Tournament Release

March 7, 2017

Big Ten Tournament Release Get Acrobat Reader

• Purdue claimed its first outright Big Ten Championship since the 1995-96 season, and enters the tournament as the top seed. The Boilermakers have now won a Big Ten record 23 Big Ten Championships.

• Purdue, Wisconsin, Maryland and Minnesota each secured byes to the quarterfinal round after earning top four seeds in this year's tournament.

• History has indicated that any team, regardless of seed, can advance to the tournament championship game. The Big Ten title game has featured teams seeded as high as first, second and third and as low as eighth, ninth, 10th and 11th. Ten different schools have advanced to the tournament’s championship game. The Nos. 1 and 2 seeds have met only three times in the tournament’s championship game (2004, 2006, 2007).

• Six different programs have won the Big Ten Tournament. Michigan State has claimed a conference-best five tournament titles. Ohio State has won four official Big Ten Tournament championships, Wisconsin has won the event three times, Illinois and Iowa have won two titles, and Purdue has won the tournament once.

• The Big Ten men's basketball All-Conference teams and individual award winners were announced on Monday, with Purdue's Caleb Swanigan earning Big Ten Player of the Year honors from the conference's coaches and a media panel. Minnesota's Richard Pitino claimed Coach of the Year laurels from both the media and his peers. Michigan State's Miles Bridges picked up Freshman of the Year accolades in both ballots. Minnesota's Reggie Lynch was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Iowa's Nicholas Baer was voted the Sixth Man of the Year by the coaches. For a full list of the All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners, see page 5 of this release.

• The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced its All-District Teams and District Players and Coaches of the Year. Purdue's Caleb Swanigan was named the District V Player of the Year, while Boilermakers' head coach Matt Painter was tabbed the District Coach of the Year. Maryland's Melo Trimble was named to the District III Team, while Iowa's Peter Jok and Nebraska's Tai Webster earned District VI honors.

• Iowa enters the Big Ten Tournament on a four-game winning streak, while Maryland and Purdue closed out conference play winning back-to-back games.

• Purdue's Caleb Swanigan and Wisconsin's Ethan Happ were named semifinalists for the 2017 Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year Award and were both included on the Wooden Award ballot.

• Northwestern's Chris Collins earned recognition as a semifinalist for the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year.

• Ten conference teams currently rank among the top 80 of the NCAA RPI, including Purdue (19), Minnesota (20), Maryland (24), Wisconsin (38), Michigan (46), Michigan State (49) Northwestern (54), No. 58 Illinois, No. 72 Iowa and No. 78 Ohio State.