Standing Room Only Tickets Now On Sale For Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament

March 11, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

After selling out all tickets in advance for the first time in conference history, the Big Ten office announced today that standing room only tickets are now on sale for the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament. The annual event begins this Thursday, March 14, and runs through Sunday, March 17, at the United Center in Chicago.

Standing room only tickets will be available for each of the six sessions of the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament and may be purchased at Ticketmaster outlets, or by calling Ticketmaster at (800) 745-3000 or through the United Center ticket offices at 312-455-4668 or Individual session standing room only ticket prices are as follows:

Opening Rounds on Thursday, March 14 - $15
Session one beginning at 11 a.m. CT
#8 Illinois vs. #9 Minnesota, followed by #5 Michigan vs. #12 Penn State

Session two beginning at 5:30 p.m. CT
#7 Purdue vs. #10 Nebraska, followed by #6 Iowa vs. #11 Northwestern

Quarterfinal Rounds on Friday, March 15 - $30
Session three beginning at 11 a.m. CT
#1 Indiana vs. #8/9 winner, followed by #4 Wisconsin vs. #5/12 winner

Session four beginning at 5:30 p.m. CT
#2 Ohio State vs. #7/10 winner, followed by #3 Michigan State vs. #6/11 winner

Semifinal Round on Saturday, March 16 - $40
Session five beginning at 12:40 p.m. CT

Championship Game on Sunday, March 17 - $40
Session six beginning at 2:30 p.m. CT

The Big Ten announced the tournament bracket on Sunday night, with Big Ten Champion Indiana earning the outright title for the first time since 1993 and the No. 1 seed for the first time in school history. Ohio State, Michigan State and Wisconsin also earned top-four seeds to secure first-round byes, as all four teams will open play on Friday. The tournament features 11 games over four days, beginning with four games on Thursday. Six different programs have won the Big Ten Tournament. Michigan State and Ohio State have won the title three times. Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin have each won the championship twice, and Purdue has won the tournament once.



The 2013 Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament returns to Chicago, which hosted the inaugural event in 1998 and will serve as the site for the eighth time in the tournament’s 16-year history. The conference tournament averaged 18,882 fans per session when the event was last held at the United Center in 2007. The men’s tournament set total and average attendance records while in Chicago in 2001 with 109,769 fans in attendance for an average of 21,954 patrons per session.

Several fan events surround this year’s men’s tournament, including the Daley Plaza Hoops Fest, Tip-Off Luncheon, Big Ten Youth Fitness Program, Big Ten Books for Baskets and Restaurant Pairings Program. For more information on ancillary events, go to

For more information, including a full bracket and lodging information, go to the men’s basketball page on

Notice to Secondary Market Ticket Buyers: The Big Ten Conference and the United Center can only guarantee the validity of Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament tickets purchased from university ticket offices, Ticketmaster or the United Center Ticket office. Fans who obtain tickets from unauthorized dealers or from other fans run the risk of buying lost, stolen or counterfeit tickets which will not be honored for admission, and will not be eligible for any type of refund or exchange.