Big Ten Men's Basketball Postseason Notables

March 14, 2017

• Ten Big Ten teams will see their seasons continue in the postseason. Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin were selected for the NCAA Tournament, while Illinois, Indiana and Iowa accepted bids to the National Invitation Tournament (NIT).

• This year marks the seventh straight season that the Big Ten has had six or more teams in the NCAA Tournament bracket, including seven participants in each of the past three years.

• Big Ten teams have won 62 NCAA Tournament games since 2011, tied with the ACC for the most among all conferences.

• Michigan State's current streak of 20 consecutive NCAA Tournaments ranks third nationally, while Wisconsin’s total of 19 straight trips is tied for the fourth-longest current streak in the nation. The Spartans' Tom Izzo joins Duke's Mike Krzyzewski, North Carolina's Dean Smith and Arizona's Lute Olson as the only head coaches to lead one school to at least 20 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances.

• Northwestern earned its first-ever trip to the NCAA Tournament. The Wildcats enter the postseason with a school-record 23 wins.

• Michigan, the Big Ten Tournament Champion, enters the NCAA Tournament with a 6-0 record in neutral site games, including five wins against teams in the NCAA Tournament field (SMU, Marquette, Minnesota, Purdue, Wisconsin).

• Over the last 12 years, the Big Ten has sent 10 different teams to the Final Four, including at least one participant in four of the past five years. Illinois and Michigan State advanced to the Final Four in 2005, followed by Ohio State in 2007 and 2012, the Spartans in 2009, 2010 and 2015, Michigan in 2013 and Wisconsin in 2014 and 2015.

• Since 2005, five Big Ten teams have advanced to the NCAA Tournament championship game. Illinois reached the final in 2005, Ohio State played in the 2007 title game, Michigan State reached the national championship game in 2009, Michigan played in the final in 2013 and Wisconsin advanced to the title game in 2015.



• Purdue's Caleb Swanigan, the Big Ten Player of the Year, was named a USBWA First Team All-American on Monday.

• Michigan's Derrick Walton Jr., was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Big Ten Tournament, leading a five-member All-Tournament Team. The squad was comprised of Michigan's Zak Irvin, Walton, and Wisconsin's Ethan Happ, Nigel Hayes and Bronson Koenig.

• Purdue's Caleb Swanigan earned Big Ten Player of the Year honors from the conference's coaches and a media panel. Minnesota's Richard Pitino claimed Coach of the Year laurels from both the media and his peers. Michigan State's Miles Bridges picked up Freshman of the Year accolades in both ballots. The Gophers' Reggie Lynch was named the Defensive Player of the Year and Iowa's Nicholas Baer was voted the Sixth Man of the Year by the coaches.