Penn State Wins NIT Championship
March 29, 2018

 NEW YORK --The Penn State men's basketball team claimed its second National Invitation Tournament (NIT) Championship with an 82-66 victory over Utah at Madison Square Garden on Thursday night.
Lamar Stevens scored 28 points and was named the NIT Most Outstanding Player. Josh Reaves added 18 and Tony Carr had 15 points and 14 assists for Penn State.

The Nittany Lions collected their second NIT Championship, as they also won the crown in 2009. Penn State has won 10 consecutive NIT games, dating to that 2009 season.

Penn State finished the season with a 26-9 record, its second-most wins in a season in school history.

Current Big Ten teams have now won 11 NIT Championships with Minnesota winning the last in 2014. NIT titles won by current Big Ten programs: Maryland (1972), Purdue (1974), Indiana (1979), Michigan (1984, 2004), Ohio State (1986, 2008), Minnesota (1993, 2014) and Penn State (2009, 2018).