2012 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Nominee - Northwestern's John Shurna

John Shurna is Northwestern's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year award.

June 15, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

John Shurna – Northwestern – Basketball
Shurna became the all-time leading scorer in Northwestern history, amassing 2,038 points to break a 35-year old school record. An all-around player, he also ranks first in career blocks and games played, second in field goals made, games started and minutes played, third in 3-point field goals made, sixth in free throws, seventh in assists and eighth in 3-point field goal percentage. The senior led the Big Ten in scoring last season, the first Wildcat to do so since 1951. Shurna was a consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection, the Wildcats’ first since 2004, and an Associated Press honorable mention All-American, Northwestern’s first since 1999. Click HERE for more information on John.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf



Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestler

Ashley Wittman, Minnesota volleyball

Lavonte David, Nebraska football

Ashley Miller, Nebraska track

Andrew Riley, Illinois track

Colleen Ward, Illinois volleyball

Christina Manning, Ohio State track

Zain Shaito, Ohio State fencing