Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award Nominee -- Talor Battle, Penn State

Talor Battle is Penn State's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award.

June 16, 2011

Through Friday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 22 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on the Big Ten Network’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Battle led Penn State to its first-ever Big Ten Tournament Championship game and its first NCAA Tournament berth in a decade during a senior season in which he finished second in the Big Ten in scoring (20.2 ppg) and became Penn State's all-time career scoring leader posting 2,213 points to surpass the 56-year old mark set by All-American Jesse Arnelle in 1955 an rank 10th all-time in Big Ten Conference history. Battle became the first Lion to earn first-team All-Big Ten, NABC All-District and USBWA All-District honors in multiple seasons. Click HERE for more information on Talor.


Ashley Benson, Indiana Volleyball

Derek Drouin, Indiana Track & Field

Kachine Alexander, Iowa Basketball

Vince India, Iowa Golf

Emily MacLeod, Michigan State Cross Country/Track

Greg Jones, Michigan State Football

Kelci Bryant, Minnesota Diving



Michael Richards, Minnesota Swimming

Numa Gulyanamitta, Purdue Golf

David Boudia, Purdue Diving

Blair Brown, Penn State Volleyball