Ohio State's Turner and Penn State's Hodge Named Big Ten Athletes of the Year

June 23, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Park Ridge, Ill. – Ohio State basketball player Evan Turner and Penn State volleyball player Megan Hodge were named the Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Big Ten Athletes of the Year, respectively, the conference office announced on Wednesday. The Big Ten Athletes of the Year are selected by a panel of conference media members from nominations submitted by each institution.

Turner becomes the first Ohio State basketball player to earn the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Award and the third Buckeye in any sport to take home the trophy. A junior guard from Chicago, Turner racked up a slew of national accolades, winning the Wooden Award, Naismith and Oscar Robertson trophies as well as being named National Player of the Year by the Associated Press, Basketball Times, National Association of Basketball Coaches and Sporting News. The conference’s consensus Player of the Year, Turner was the Most Outstanding Player of the Big Ten Tournament and was named to a litany of All-America teams. He set a Big Ten record with 10 career Player of the Week selections, including seven in 2009-10. In his junior campaign, Turner led the Big Ten with 20.4 points and 9.2 rebounds per game, ranking second with 6.0 assists per contest. With the performance, he became the only player in Ohio State history to tally over 1,000 points, 500 rebounds, 400 assists and 150 steals in a career. He recorded

16 double-doubles in 2009-10, including five consecutive to open the season, giving him 27 in his career. He also became one of just 34 players in NCAA Division I history to record multiple triple-doubles in a season, accomplishing the feat on Nov. 9 and Nov. 24, 2009.

Penn State's Megan Hodge was named the 2010 Suzy Favor Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year.

Hodge led the Penn State team that became the first in NCAA Division I volleyball history to win three straight national titles. The outside hitter was named co-winner of the Honda-Broderick Cup, honoring the top female student-athlete in collegiate athletics. Hodge was named the AVCA National Player of the Year and also took home her second Big Ten Player of the Year award in 2009, having first earned the honor as a freshman in 2006. The four-time AVCA All-American was a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection throughout her career and won the Honda Award for volleyball in 2009 after being named a finalist for the accolade in 2008. In 2008, Hodge and the Nittany Lions became the only team in NCAA Division I, II or III history to complete a regular season without dropping a single set. That run was part of Penn State’s record-breaking 102-match winning streak that extends to the 2010 campaign. A three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, Hodge is a two-time Academic All-American and was named volleyball’s

Academic All-American of the Year in 2009. Hodge is the sixth Penn State student-athlete to earn the Suzy Favor Award and the third volleyball player to take home the honor. She is the second Nittany Lion volleyball player to earn the award, following Lauren Cacciamani in 2000.

The Big Ten Conference has recognized a Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year since 1982 when Indiana’s Jim Spivey earned the inaugural award. The following year, a women’s award was created. In 1991-92, as part of the celebration of the 10th anniversary of women’s athletics in the conference, the women’s award was renamed in honor of former Wisconsin track standout and three-time recipient Suzy Favor.

The complete list of 2010 Jesse Owens and Suzy Favor Athlete of the Year nominations, as well as the list of all-time winners for each award, can be found through the link at the top of the page.