2005 Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament

2005 Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament
Tournament Links
Tournament Schedule
All-Time Results
Other Tournament Information
Getting to and from the United Center
Hotel Reservations
Tiebreaking Procedures
Tournament History
After a one-year hiatus, the Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament returns to Chicago to crown the 2005 Tournament Champion at the United Center from March 10-13. The Tournament was held in Chicago the first four years of the event from 1998 to 2001 before returning in 2003, 2005 and 2007. The 2002 and 2004 Tournaments were played at the Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, which will also be the site of the 2006 event.

The Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament has made its mark both nationally and locally in its first seven years of existence. Sell-out crowds, exciting and competitive games, national television coverage and throngs of media have been featured in past Conference Tournaments. It is a highlight reel of college basketball that showcases the finest coaches and athletes in the nation.

All 11 teams participate in the men’s tournament with the winner receiving the Conference’s automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The team that finishes atop the regular season standings is the Big Ten champion. The bracket will be seeded according to the final regular-season standings with the League champion earning the top seed and the top five finishers receiving first-round byes.

After seven years of Big Ten Tournament play, the Conference has welcomed more than 670,000 fans and issued over 4,200 media credentials. Six different League representatives have become Big Ten Tournament champions, with Michigan State claiming the honor twice (1999, 2000) along with triumphs by Michigan (1998), Iowa (2001) , Ohio State (2002), Illinois (2003) and Wisconsin (2004). The strength and depth of the League have also been displayed, as the tournament final has featured teams seeded 11th, 9th, 8th and 6th, while the No. 4 seed has advanced to the championship game on three occasions.