Legends and Leaders Divisions

A new era of Big Ten football starts this fall with divisional play leading up to the first ever Big Ten Football Championship Game in Indianapolis on December 3. With the addition of Nebraska on July 1, 2011, football competition has been reorganized into two divisions - "Legends" and "Leaders". A breakdown of the divisions is listed below:

LEGENDS: Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern

LEADERS: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Wisconsin

"'Legends' is a nod to our history and to the people associated with our schools who are widely recognized as legends - student-athletes, coaches, alumni and faculty. 'Leaders' looks to the future as we remain committed to fostering leaders, the student-athletes who are encouraged to lead in their own way for the rest of their lives, in their families, in their communities and in their chosen professions," said Delany. "We're proud of our many legends and even prouder of our member institutions that develop future leaders every day."