National Football League Selects 34 Big Ten Student-Athletes in 2010 Draft

April 26, 2010

Thirty-four Big Ten Conference student-athletes were selected during the 2010 National Football League (NFL) Draft held from April 22-24, including three first-round picks from three different institutions. The Big Ten's total of 34 draft picks ranked second among all conferences and was the most for the conference since 41 Big Ten players were chosen during the 2006 NFL Draft. The Big Ten and SEC were the only conferences in which every school featured at least one selection during the seven rounds.
Big Ten Silver Football co-winner Brandon Graham of Michigan was the Big Ten's first selection, as the All-American was chosen 13th overall by Philadelphia. Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year Bryan Bulaga of Iowa was chosen next at No. 23 by Green Bay, while Big Ten Defensive Player and Lineman of the Year Jared Odrick of Penn State was chosen 28th overall by Miami.

The Hawkeyes and Nittany Lions led the way for the Big Ten with six picks over the three-day draft, followed by Ohio State with four selections. Iowa and Penn State were two of only 10 teams with six or more draftees along with Alabama, Florida, Louisiana State, Oklahoma, Southern California, Tennessee, Texas and Utah.

The entire list of conference draftees appears below.

The Big Ten will hold the 2010 Football Media Days and 39th annual Kickoff Luncheon on Monday and Tuesday, August 2-3, at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place in Chicago, featuring all 11 head coaches and some of the conference's top returning players. The 115th season of Big Ten football kicks off with every team in action on Sept. 2 or 4.
Big Ten Selections in 2010 NFL Draft

First Round
13 (13) Brandon Graham, DE, Michigan (Philadelphia)
23. (23) Bryan Bulaga, OL, Iowa (Green Bay)
28. (28) Jared Odrick, DT, Penn State (Miami)

Second Round
1. (33)  Rodger Saffold, OL, Indiana (St. Louis)
7. (39) Arrelious Benn, WR, Illinois (Tampa Bay)
23. (55) Sean Lee, LB, Penn State (Dallas)
24. (56) Mike Neal, DT, Purdue (Green Bay)
31. (63) Pat Angerer, LB, Iowa (Indianapolis)



Third Round
2. (66) Amari Spievey, CB, Iowa (Detroit)
4. (68) Jon Asamoah, OG, Illinois (Kansas City)
23. (87) Eric Decker, WR, Minnesota (Denver)
27. (91) Navorro Bowman, LB, Penn State (San Francisco)
29. (93) Tony Moeaki, TE, Iowa (Kansas City)

Fourth Round
11. (109) Corey Wootton, DE, Northwestern (Chicago)
18. (116) Thaddeus Gibson, DE, Ohio State (Pittsburgh)
20. (118) Garrett Graham, TE, Wisconsin (Houston)
21. (119) A.J. Edds, LB, Iowa (Miami)
24. (122) Mike Kafka, QB, Northwestern (Philadelphia)
32. (130) O'Brien Schofield, DE, Wisconsin (Arizona)

Fifth Round
1. (132) Michael Hoomanawanui, TE, Illinois (St. Louis)
13. (144) Sherrick McManis, CB, Northwestern (Houston)
19. (150) Zoltan Mesko, P, Michigan (New England)
23. (154) Andrew Quarless, TE, Penn State (Green Bay)
36. (167) Nathan Triplett, LB, Minnesota (Minnesota)

Seventh Round
7. (214) Mickey Shuler, TE, Penn State (Minnesota)
8. (215) Jeremy Ware, CB, Michigan State (New England)
9. (216) Kyle Calloway, OT, Iowa (Buffalo)
25. (232) Jammie Kirlew, DE, Indiana (Denver)
35. (242) Doug Worthington, DE, Ohio State (Pittsburgh)
37. (244) Kurt Coleman, S, Ohio State (Philadelphia)
39. (246) Ray Fisher, CB, Indiana (Indianapolis)
44. (251) Steven Brown, S, Michigan (Oakland)
45. (252) Austin Spitler, LB, Ohio State (Miami)
47. (254) Josh Hull, LB, Penn State (St. Louis)