Big Ten Schools Announce Prime Time Football Games to Appear on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2

Michigan and quarterback Devin Gardner will host Notre Dame in prime time on Sept. 7.

April 29, 2013

Big Ten institutions released game times and television plans today for six home football contests to appear in prime time on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2 during the 2013 season. Ohio State leads the way with three night games on those networks, while Michigan and Penn State each boast a pair of prime time matchups. Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin will each take part in one night contest on those networks. Additional prime time football games will be announced next week.
The Big Ten non-conference home schedule will feature two prime time games at 8 p.m. ET against Notre Dame on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2. Michigan will host the Fighting Irish on Sept. 7, while Purdue will face Notre Dame on Sept. 14.

Four conference matchups will appear in prime time on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2, beginning with Ohio State, the nation’s only undefeated team last season, hosting three-time defending conference champion Wisconsin on Sept. 28 at 8 p.m. ET. The Buckeyes will play a second straight night game the following weekend when they travel to battle Northwestern on Oct. 5 at 8 p.m. ET on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2. Penn State will host Michigan on Oct. 12 at 5 p.m. ET on ESPN or ESPN2. The Nittany Lions will also play a night game at Ohio State on Oct. 26 at 8 p.m. ET on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2.

The Big Ten will hold the 2013 Football Media Days and 42nd annual Kickoff Luncheon on Wednesday and Thursday, July 24 and 25, at the Hilton Chicago, featuring all 12 head coaches and some of the nation’s top returning players. The 118th season of Big Ten football kicks off Thursday, August 29, and culminates with the third annual Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 7, to be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis and televised by FOX. The winner of the title game will earn the Big Ten Championship and a chance to play in either the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.