Big Ten Schools Announce Prime Time Football Games to Appear on BTN

May 6, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. - Big Ten institutions released game times and television plans today for 12 home football contests to appear in prime time on BTN during the 2013 season. BTN will highlight eight different conference teams in prime time, with games featuring Illinois, Indiana, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Penn State and Wisconsin.

The Big Ten non-conference home schedule kicks off on BTN with prime time matchups on the opening Thursday, Friday and Saturday of the college football season. BTN will televise both Big Ten non-conference openers on Thursday, August 29, with Minnesota hosting UNLV and Indiana facing Indiana State at 7 p.m. ET. Michigan State's season-opening contest with Western Michigan on Friday, August 30, will appear on BTN at 8 p.m. ET. The first full Saturday of Big Ten competition will conclude on BTN, with Nebraska hosting Wyoming at 8 p.m. ET on August 31.

BTN will carry three prime time games on both the second and third Saturdays of the season. On Saturday, Sept. 7, a trio of non-conference matchups will be televised at 6 p.m. ET with Navy at Indiana, Southern Miss at Nebraska and Syracuse at Northwestern. The following Saturday, Sept. 14, will feature two non-conference contests at 6 p.m. ET with Illinois batting Washington at Soldier Field in Chicago and Penn State hosting UCF. The Sept. 14 schedule will wrap up with Northwestern facing Western Michigan at 9 p.m. ET. On the fourth Saturday of the season, Indiana will square off against Missouri at 8 p.m. ET on BTN.

BTN's prime time schedule concludes with a Leaders Division matchup with three-time defending Big Ten Champion Wisconsin playing at Illinois at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, Oct. 19.

The Big Ten will hold the 2013 Football Media Days and 42nd annual Kickoff Luncheon on Wednesday and Thursday, July 24 and 25, at the Hilton Chicago, featuring all 12 head coaches and some of the nation's top returning players. The 118th season of Big Ten football kicks off Thursday, August 29, and culminates with the third annual Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 7, to be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis and televised by FOX. The winner of the title game will earn the Big Ten Championship and a chance to play in either the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.