Alvarez, Herrmann, Howard Elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Purdue's Mark Herrmann, along with former Michigan wide receiver Desmond Howard and Wisconsin coach Barry Alvarez, were elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

May 27, 2010

The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced on Thursday the 2010 College Football Hall of Fame Class with three members of this year's class tied to Big Ten universities.

Former Purdue quarterback Mark Herrmann, former Michigan wide receiver Desmond Howard and former Wisconsin coach and current Director of Athletics Barry Alvarez will be inducted at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7, 2010, at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City and will officially be enshrined in 2011.

Herrmann, who guided the Boilermakers from 1977-1980, was named a unanimous All-American in 1980 and completed his career with nine NCAA passing records, including yards (9,188) and completions (707). He became the first quarterback in NCAA history to throw for more than 8,000 yards in a career. He won offensive MVP honors of the Peach and Bluebonnet Bowls and finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting in his senior season. Hermann remains the school's single-season leader in completion percentage (.658) and is the 12th Boilermaker to be elected into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The winner of the 1991 Heisman Trophy, Howard helped the Wolverines to three conference titles and two Rose Bowl appearances during his career in Ann Arbor from 1989-1991. The wideout was named a consensus All-American, the Maxwell Award winner and the Walter Camp Player of the year during his final season with the Wolverines. He holds the Michigan single-season records for touchdowns (23) and points (138), and is the conference's single-season leader with 19 touchdown receptions. He becomes the 30th Michigan player to enter the College Football Hall of Fame and is the lone former Heisman Trophy winner of this year's class.

Alvarez, one of two coaches in this year's class, is the winningest coach in Badger history, having compiled a 118-73-4 mark from 1990-2005. He won three Big Ten Championships during his career and joins Woody Hayes as the only two coaches to win three Rose Bowls. His .727 bowl game winning percentage is the highest all-time for coaches with at least 11 bowl appearances. In 1993, Alvarez was named the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year, the AFCA National Coach of the Year and College & Pro Football Newsweekly National Coach of the Year. In addition to winning the 1999 Victor Award, he was a finalist for the ESPN National Coach of the Decade honor. Alvarez coached 12 first-team All-Americans and 1999 Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne. He is the ninth Badger to be selected to the Hall of Fame.