Big Ten Recognized 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

June 3, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten announced on Thursday the 22 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2009-10 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university's list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners include 17 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and 10 All-Big Ten selections from the 2009-10 season. In addition, Michigan's Jason Jung was honored with the ITA Arthur Ashe, Jr., Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship and Penn State's Jason Yeisley was named the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award honoree for men's soccer.

The 2010 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is available as a PDF at the top of the page.

2010 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners:

Juice Williams, Sr., Football
Ashley Edinger, Sr., Volleyball

Nate Everhart, Sr., Wrestling
Sarah Pease, Sr., Women's Cross Country

A.J. Edds, Sr., Football
Laura Cilek, Jr, Women's Golf

Jason Jung, Jr., Men's Tennis
Brittany May, Sr., Women's Water Polo

Michigan State
Franklin Gomez, Sr., Wrestling
Lauren Aitch, Sr., Women's Basketball

Jayson Ness, Sr., Wrestling
Gabriele Anderson, Sr., Women's Track and Field

Eric Metzler, Sr., Wrestling
Beth Marshall, Sr., Women's Basketball

Ohio State
Taylor Candella, Sr., Men's Cross Country
Hillary Dow, Sr., Women's Gymnastics

Penn State
Jason Yeisley, Sr., Men's Soccer
Daphne Skelos, Sr., Women's Swimming and Diving

Jacob Palmer, Jr., Men's Track and Field
Kristen Arthurs, Sr., Volleyball

Chris Maragos, Sr., Football
Vicky Opitz, Sr., Women's Rowing