Big Ten Recognizes 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

June 4, 2009

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten today announced the 22 student-athletes named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2008-09 academic year. These individuals were chosen from a group of 276 student-athletes honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.

One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree. From each university’s list, two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected. All of the Sportsmanship Award honorees have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these student-athletes must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The 22 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners include 14 Academic All-Big Ten honorees and 11 All-Big Ten selections from the 2008-09 season. In addition, Illinois’ Angela Bizzarri, Indiana’s Jorge Campillo, Michigan State’s Javon Ringer, Minnesota’s Ladia Albertson-Junkans and Penn State’s Gayle Hunter have each earned All-America honors during their careers.
The 2009 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is attached as a PDF.

2009 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

Trent Meacham, Sr., Men’s Basketball
Angela Bizzarri, Jr., Women’s Track & Field

Jorge Campillo, Sr., Men’s Golf
Ashley Rhoades, Jr., Women’s Track & Field

Christian Bierich, Sr., Men’s Tennis
Wendy Ausdemore, Sr., Women’s Basketball



C.J. Lee, Sr., Men’s Basketball
Teddi Ewing, Sr., Softball   

Michigan State 
Javon Ringer, Sr., Football
Lisa Senakiewich, Sr., Women’s Track & Field

Jamal Abu-Shamala, Sr., Men’s Basketball
Ladia Albertson-Junkans, Sr., Women’s Track & Field

Eric Peterman, Sr., Football
Annie Bosslet, Sr., Field Hockey

Ohio State 
Taylor Candella, Jr., Men’s Cross Country
Alyssa Meyer, Sr., Women’s Gymnastics

Penn State 
Gerald Cadogan, Sr., Football
Gayle Hunter, Sr., Women’s Track & Field

Andre Koop, Jr., Men’s Swimming and Diving
Kristen Phillips, Jr., Women’s Cross Country

Nate Larkin, Jr., Men’s Track & Field
Audra Jeffers, Sr., Women’s Volleyball

Click here for a complete list of the 2008-09 Sportsmanship Award winners