Big Ten Announces Television Plans for 16 Games on 2006 Football Schedule

June 13, 2006

The Big Ten Conference announced today 16 football games that will appear on either ABC Sports or the ESPN networks (ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPN Plus, ESPN360) during the 2006 football season. That group of games includes 15 contests in the first three weeks of non-conference action and the Michigan at Ohio State game, which will be played Nov. 18 at 3:30 p.m. EST on ABC Sports.

The 111th season of Big Ten football kicks off on Thursday, Aug. 31, with Minnesota battling Kent State and Northwestern playing Miami (Ohio). The remaining league teams take the field on Saturday, Sept. 2, for non-conference action, including five games to be televised by ABC Sports or an ESPN network. The complete list of television games announced today appears below.

Saturday, September 2
Montana at IOWA, 11 a.m. CDT, ESPNU
Vanderbilt at MICHIGAN, Noon EDT, ESPN
Idaho at MICHIGAN STATE, Noon EDT, ESPN Plus Local
Northern Illinois at OHIO STATE, 3:30 p.m. EDT, ABC Sports
Akron at PENN STATE, 3:30 p.m. EDT, ESPN2

Saturday, September 9
Central Michigan at MICHIGAN, Noon EDT, ESPN Plus Local
Miami (Ohio) at PURDUE, 1 p.m. EDT, ESPN360
Eastern Michigan at MICHIGAN STATE, 3:30 p.m. EDT, ESPN Plus Local
Western Illinois at WISCONSIN, 2:30 p.m. CDT, ESPNU

Saturday, September 16
Syracuse at ILLINOIS, 11 a.m. CDT, ESPNU
Iowa State at IOWA, 11 a.m. CDT, ESPN
Cincinnati at OHIO STATE, Noon EDT, ESPN Plus Regional
Ball State at PURDUE, 1 p.m. EDT, ESPN360
Youngstown State at PENN STATE, 3:30 p.m. EDT, ESPNU
San Diego State at WISCONSIN, 2:30 p.m. CDT, ESPN Plus Local

Saturday, November 18
MICHIGAN at OHIO STATE, 3:30 p.m. EST, ABC Sports

The Big Ten will hold the 2006 Football Media Days and 35th annual Kickoff Luncheon on Tuesday and Wednesday, Aug. 1-2, at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, featuring all 11 head coaches and some of the conference's top returning players.