2012 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Nominee - Nebraska's Lavonte David

Lavonte David is Nebraska's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year.

June 13, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Lavonte David – Nebraska – Football
David earned first-team All-America honors from the American Football Coaches Association and CBSSports.com, as well as second-team accolades from the Associated Press and Walter Camp Foundation. The senior was a national finalist for the Butkus Award and received Big Ten Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year honors after leading Nebraska in tackles (133) and ranking third in the Big Ten in tackles per game. David also led Nebraska in tackles for loss (13), sacks (5.5), interceptions (2), fumbles caused (2) and fumble recoveries (2). A native of Miami, he was a second round draft pick of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Click HERE for more information on Lavonte.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf



Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestler

Ashley Wittman, Minnesota volleyball