2012 Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year Nominee - Wisconsin's Montee Ball

Montee Ball is Wisconsin's nominee for the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year award.

June 18, 2012

Through Monday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on BTN’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Montee Ball – Wisconsin – Football
Ball etched his name into the record books this season as he led Wisconsin to a Big Ten Championship and the Rose Bowl Game. He tied the NCAA record for touchdowns in a season (39) and led the country in rushing yards (1,923) and yards from scrimmage (2,229). The junior was a Heisman Trophy finalist, first-team All-American, the Big Ten’s Graham-George Offensive Player and Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year and a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection. He scored a conference record 33 rushing touchdowns and was twice named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week. Click HERE for more information on Montee.

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey

Matt McDonough, Iowa wrestling

Kevin Plawecki, Purdue baseball

Ariel Turner, Purdue volleyball

Draymond Green, Michigan State basketball

Caroline Powers, Michigan State golf

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestler



Ashley Wittman, Minnesota volleyball

Lavonte David, Nebraska football

Ashley Miller, Nebraska track

Andrew Riley, Illinois track

Colleen Ward, Illinois volleyball

Christina Manning, Ohio State track

Zain Shaito, Ohio State fencing

John Shurna, Northwestern basketball

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern lacrosse

Maya Hayes, Penn State soccer

David Taylor, Penn State wrestling

Andy Bayer, Indiana track

Allysa Vavra, Indiana swimming