Big Ten Athlete of the Year Nominee - WIS' Montee Ball

Ball was selected in the second round of the NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos.

June 24, 2013

Through Tuesday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 24 student-athletes nominated for the conference's Athlete of the Year awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced on Wednesday.

Montee Ball – Wisconsin – Football
The 2012 Doak Walker Award winner and Big Ten Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year, Ball propelled the Badgers to their school-record third-straight Big Ten title. He became the first player in the history of the Rose Bowl Game to rush for at least 100 yards in three consecutive games and to score touchdowns in three different contests. The two-time consensus first-team All-American rushed for a conference-best 1,830 yards, which ranked third in the nation, and paced the Big Ten with 22 touchdowns, the ninth-best total in the country. The senior wrapped up his career as the NCAA’s all-time leader in career touchdowns (83) and rushed for 5,140 yards, second in Wisconsin history behind only Ron Dayne. Click HERE for more information on Montee. 

Previously Highlighted Nominees:

Ed Ruth, Penn State wrestling

Christine Nairn, Penn State women's soccer

Geoff Davis, Purdue men's track & field 

Casey Matthews, Purdue women's swimming & diving 

Derek St. John, Iowa wrestling

Jessica Barnett, Iowa field hockey    

Connor Jaeger, Michigan men's swimming & diving

Joanna Sampson, Michigan women's gymnastics

Le'Veon Bell, Michigan State football  

Caroline Powers, Michigan State women's golf  

Tony Nelson, Minnesota wrestling

Amanda Kessel, Minnesota women's ice hockey

Justin Parr, Illinois baseball

Ashley Spencer, Illinois women's track & field