Annual Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon to Feature 33 Conference Standouts

July 8, 2009

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced today the 33 student-athletes scheduled to attend the 2009 Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon, held Tuesday, July 28, at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. The 38th annual event, which also features all 11 conference head coaches, begins at 10 a.m. CT with the players and coaches autograph and photo session for fans attending the luncheon. The luncheon is scheduled to begin at 11:30 a.m. CT, with comments from all 11 coaches and returning All-Big Ten wide receiver Eric Decker of Minnesota, who will speak on behalf of the players in attendance.

The list of student-athletes scheduled to attend includes 17 former All-Big Ten selections, including nine first-team honorees from a year ago. The list also includes three standouts who were recognized as their respective teams’ Most Valuable Players last season.

Scheduled to attend from last year’s All-Conference first team are Illinois’ Arrelious Benn, Indiana’s Jammie Kirlew, Michigan’s Zoltan Mesko, Michigan State’s Greg Jones, Minnesota’s Decker, Northwestern’s Corey Wootton, Penn State’s Daryll Clark and Jared Odrick and Wisconsin’s Garrett Graham. Benn, Kirlew and Wootton were named MVPs of their respective teams following the conclusion of last season.

Also among the list of attendees are eight players who received either second-team or honorable mention All-Big Ten recognition in the last two years: Illinois’ Juice Williams, Iowa’s Pat Angerer and A.J. Edds, Michigan State’s Brett Swenson and Blair White, Northwestern’s Brad Phillips, Ohio State’s Kurt Coleman and Penn State’s Sean Lee, who was a second-team pick in 2007 before missing last year with an injury.



Rounding out the list of student-athletes scheduled to appear at the Kickoff Luncheon are Illinois’ Doug Pilcher, Indiana’s Ben Chappell and Will Patterson, Iowa’s Tony Moeaki, Michigan’s Stevie Brown and Mark Ortmann, Minnesota’s Garrett Brown and Lee Campbell, Northwestern’s Mike Kafka, Ohio State’s Jake Ballard and Doug Worthington, Purdue’s Joey Elliott, Mike Neal and Keith Smith and Wisconsin’s Jaevery McFadden and O’Brien Schofield. The complete list of attendees can be found below.

The Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon annually draws some of the most interesting and talented names in college sports. The list of former Kickoff Luncheon attendees includes coaching legends like Bo Schembechler and Woody Hayes, along with each of the Big Ten's Heisman Trophy winners since 1970 - Archie Griffin, Desmond Howard, Eddie George, Charles Woodson, Ron Dayne and the conference’s most recent winner, Troy Smith. In all, over 700 of the conference's finest players, more than 50 head coaches and nearly 42,000 supporters have made the Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon a yearly stop in their preseason college football schedules.


Arrelious Benn*, Jr., WR
Doug Pilcher, Sr., DL
Juice Williams*, Sr., QB

Ben Chappell, Jr., QB
Jammie Kirlew*, Sr., DE
Will Patterson, Sr., LB

Pat Angerer*, Sr., LB
A.J. Edds*, Sr., LB
Tony Moeaki, Sr., TE

Stevie Brown, Sr., LB/S
Zoltan Mesko*, Sr., P
Mark Ortmann, Sr., LT

Michigan State
Greg Jones*, Jr., LB
Brett Swenson*, Sr., PK
Blair White*, Sr., WR

Garrett Brown, Sr., DT
Lee Campbell, Sr., LB
Eric Decker*, Sr., WR

Mike Kafka, Sr., QB
Brad Phillips*, Sr., S
Corey Wootton*, Sr., DE

Ohio State
Jake Ballard, Sr., TE
Kurt Coleman*, Sr., DB
Doug Worthington, Sr., DL

Penn State
Daryll Clark*, Sr., QB
Sean Lee*, Sr., LB
Jared Odrick*, Sr., DT

Joey Elliott, Sr., QB
Mike Neal, Sr., DT
Keith Smith, Sr., WR

Garrett Graham*, Sr., TE
Jaevery McFadden, Sr., LB
O’Brien Schofield, Sr., DL

* Indicates previous All-Big Ten selection