Fifteen Big Ten Standouts Named to Mackey Award and Rimington Trophy Watch Lists

Michigan State's Jack Allen was one of 10 Big Ten centers named to the Rimington Trophy watch list.

July 8, 2014

Fifteen Big Ten standouts were named to the watch lists for the John Mackey Award and Rimington Trophy today. The Mackey Award goes to the nation’s top tight end, while the Rimington Trophy is won by the country’s top center.

Five Big Ten tight ends were named to the Mackey Award watch list – Minnesota’s Maxx Williams, Ohio State’s Jeff Heuerman, Penn State’s Kyle Carter and Jesse James and Rutgers’ Tyler Kroft. Indiana’s Ted Bolser and Michigan’s Devin Funchess, who has moved to wide receiver for the upcoming season and was named to the Maxwell Award watch list, were named Mackey Award semifinalists last season. Three Big Ten tight ends have claimed the Mackey Award – Purdue’s Tim Stratton in 2000, Iowa’s Dallas Clark in 2002 and Minnesota’s Matt Spaeth in 2006.

Ten Big Ten centers were tabbed for the Rimington Trophy watch list – Indiana’s Collin Rahrig, Iowa’s Austin Blythe, Maryland’s Sal Conaboy, Michigan State’s Jack Allen, Minnesota’s Tommy Olson, Nebraska’s Mark Pelini, Northwestern’s Brandon Vitabile, Purdue’s Robert Kugler, Rutgers’ Betim Bujari and Wisconsin’s Dan Voltz. Six standouts from current Big Ten schools have won the Rimington Trophy, most recently when Michigan’s David Molk claimed the honor in 2011.