Five Big Ten Standouts Named to Groza and Guy Award Watch Lists

Ohio State's Cameron Johnston was named a Guy Award semifinalist last season.

July 9, 2014

Five Big Ten standouts were named to the watch lists for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and Ray Guy Award today. The Groza Award goes to the nation’s top kicker, while the Guy Award is won by the country’s top punter.

Two Big Ten kickers were named to the Groza Award watch list – Maryland’s Brad Craddock and Michigan State’s Michael Geiger. Craddock and Northwestern’s Jeff Budzien were named Groza Award semifinalists last season. Two Big Ten kickers have claimed the Groza Award – Iowa’s Nate Kaeding in 2002 and Ohio State’s Mike Nugent in 2004.

Three Big Ten punters were tabbed for the Guy Award watch list – Michigan State’s Mike Sadler, Minnesota’s Peter Mortell and Ohio State’s Cameron Johnston. Sadler, Johnston and Purdue’s Cody Webster were named Guy Award semifinalists last season, with Webster earning a finalist nod. Three standouts from Big Ten schools have won the Guy Award – Wisconsin’s Kevin Stemke in 2000, Purdue’s Travis Dorsch in 2001 and Ohio State’s B.J. Sander in 2003.