Big Ten Announces Football Attendees for 42nd Annual Kickoff Luncheon

July 10, 2013

Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon Information

Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced today the 36 student-athletes scheduled to attend the 2013 Big Ten Media Days and Kickoff Luncheon presented by Allstate and BMW, held Wednesday and Thursday, July 24 and 25, at the Hilton Chicago. The 42nd annual luncheon will feature 19 returning All-Big Ten selections and all 12 head coaches.

The Kickoff Luncheon begins on Thursday, July 25, at 10 a.m. CT with the players and coaches autograph and photo session for fans attending the luncheon. The luncheon is scheduled to begin at 11:30 a.m., with comments from all 12 coaches and Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient John Urschel of Penn State. The All-Big Ten offensive lineman and Academic All-American will speak on behalf of the players in attendance.

The list of student-athletes scheduled to attend includes 19 All-Big Ten selections from last season. The list also includes the reigning Big Ten Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year in Ohio State’s Braxton Miller and Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year in Michigan’s Taylor Lewan. In addition to Lewan, Miller and Urschel, other previous first-team All-Conference honorees include Michigan State’s Max Bullough and Darqueze Dennard, Nebraska’s Taylor Martinez, Ohio State’s Bradley Roby and Wisconsin’s Jared Abbrederis and Chris Borland.

Attendees who have earned second-team All-Big Ten honors include Northwestern’s Venric Mark, Ohio State’s Jack Mewhort and Purdue’s Ricardo Allen. Previous honorable mention All-Conference honorees scheduled to appear at the event are Indiana’s Mitch Ewald and Greg Heban, Iowa’s James Morris, Minnesota’s Ra’Shede Hageman, Nebraska’s Ciante Evans and Northwestern’s Kain Colter and Tyler Scott. The full list of attendees can be found below.



A limited number of tickets remain available for $100 per seat or $1,000 per table (10 seats). Contact Sue Immekus at the Big Ten office at 847-696-1010, ext. 122, or to purchase tickets.

The Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon annually attracts some of the most talented names in college sports. The event has drawn legendary coaches as well as each of the conference’s Heisman Trophy winners since 1970. In all, nearly 850 of the conference’s finest players, over 60 head coaches and more than 47,000 supporters have made the Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon a yearly stop in their preseason college football schedules.



Christian Kirksey, Sr., LB
James Morris, Sr., LB*
Brett Van Sloten, Sr., OL

Devin Gardner, Jr., QB
Thomas Gordon, Sr., S
Taylor Lewan, Sr., LT*

Max Bullough, Sr., LB*
Darqueze Dennard, Sr., CB*
Blake Treadwell, Sr., OG

Ra’Shede Hageman, Sr., DT*
Donnell Kirkwood, Jr., RB
Brock Vereen, Sr., S

Quincy Enunwa, Sr., WR
Ciante Evans, Sr., CB*
Taylor Martinez, Sr., QB*

Kain Colter, Sr., QB*
Venric Mark, Sr., RB*
Tyler Scott, Sr., DE*


Tim Kynard, Sr., DL
Corey Lewis, Sr., OT
Nathan Scheelhaase, Sr., QB

Mitch Ewald, Sr., K*
Greg Heban, Sr., S*
Kofi Hughes, Sr., WR

Jack Mewhort, Sr., OT*
Braxton Miller, Jr., QB*
Bradley Roby, Jr., CB*

Glenn Carson, Sr., LB
John Urschel, Sr., G*
Malcolm Willis, Sr., S

Ricardo Allen, Sr., CB*
Bruce Gaston, Sr., DT
Gabe Holmes, Sr., TE

Jared Abbrederis, Sr., WR*
Chris Borland, Sr., LB*
James White, Sr., RB

* indicates previous All-Big Ten selection