Seventeen Big Ten Standouts Named to Nagurski and Outland Trophy Watch Lists

Ohio State's Michael Bennett was named to both the Nagurski and Outland Trophy watch lists.

July 10, 2014

Seventeen Big Ten student-athletes were named to the watch lists for the Bronko Nagurski and Outland Trophies today, with Iowa’s Carl Davis and Ohio State’s Michael Bennett named to both lists. The Nagurski Trophy goes to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player, while the Outland Trophy is won by the country’s top interior lineman.

Ten Big Ten defensive players were named to the Nagurski Trophy watch list – Iowa’s Davis, Michigan’s Frank Clark, Blake Countess and Jake Ryan, Michigan State’s Shilique Calhoun, Kurtis Drummond and Trae Waynes, Nebraska’s Randy Gregory and Ohio State’s Bennett and Joey Bosa. Michigan State’s Darqueze Dennard was named a Nagurski Trophy finalist last season. Four defensive standouts from current Big Ten schools have claimed the Nagurski Trophy five times – Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald in 1995 and 1996, Michigan’s Charles Woodson in 1997, Ohio State’s James Laurinaitis in 2006 and Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh in 2009.

Nine Big Ten interior linemen were tabbed for the Outland Trophy watch list – Iowa’s Davis and Brandon Scherff, Michigan State’s Jack Allen and Jack Conklin, Northwestern’s Brandon Vitabile, Ohio State’s Bennett, Penn State’s Donovan Smith, Rutgers’ Kaleb Johnson and Wisconsin’s Rob Havenstein. Twenty-four standouts from current Big Ten schools have claimed the Outland Trophy 25 times, most recently by Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Wisconsin’s Gabe Carimi in 2010.