Five Big Ten Standouts Named to Thorpe Award Watch List

Michigan's Blake Countess was a first-team All-Big Ten selection last season.

July 11, 2014

Five Big Ten standouts were named to the watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation’s top defensive back. Conference defenders appearing on the watch list are Michigan’s Blake Countess, Michigan State’s Kurtis Drummond and Trae Waynes, Northwestern’s Ibraheim Campbell and Penn State’s Jordan Lucas. The Spartans’ Darqueze Dennard claimed the Thorpe Award last season, the sixth Big Ten player to earn the national honor along with Michigan’s Charles Woodson (1997), Minnesota’s Tyrone Carter (1999), Ohio State’s Malcolm Jenkins (2008) and Antoine Winfield (1998) and Wisconsin’s Jamar Fletcher (2000).